Welcome to the Alaska Board of Nursing

Reference Information

Whistleblower Information

AS 08.68.279. Whistleblower protection for nurses concerning delegated duties. An employer may not discharge, threaten, or otherwise discriminate against a nurse employed by the employer regarding the nurse’s compensation, terms, conditions, location, or privileges of employment for the nurse’s refusal to perform a task involving nursing care delegated to the nurse by the nurse’s superior if

  1. the nurse alleges that the task was improperly delegated;
  2. the nurse reports the attempted improper delegation to the Board of Nursing within 24 hours after the attempted delegation was made; and
  3. the Board of Nursing finds that the task was improperly delegated.

Note: The above-referenced statute became effective September 26, 2002. The Board of Nursing is in the process of implementing regulations to clarify the process on how to report an action under AS 08.68.279.

In the meantime, complaints relating to this statute must be submitted to the Alaska Board of Nursing within 24 hours after the attempted delegation was made. Reports may be hand-delivered to the board at the Anchorage or Juneau office or faxed to the Board of Nursing at (907) 269-8196.