Board of Physical Therapy & Occupational Therapy

Board News

It is our desire to keep licensees and the public informed of Board activities. Please contact Board staff at license@alaska.gov if you have questions regarding Board activities.

New Regulations in Effect

The Board of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy has worked extensively on a regulations project which is in effect as of August 18, 2013.

There were changes dealing with licensure requirements, temporary permits, applications, foreign trained applicants, continuing education requirements, and internships standards.  Although these changes were enacted to improve the application process and clarify requirements for incoming applicants there are some regulations which directly affect existing licensees.

Key points: 

  • Occupational therapy assistants are now required to complete 24 contact hours in continuing education for each 2 year licensing period, and 12 contact hours if licensed less than 12 months.  {prior law required only 12 contact hours and 6 contact hours if licensed less than 12 months}.
  • Occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants shall now complete at least one-half of the required contact hours in courses recognized according to 12 AAC 54.715(a).  {prior law required ALL contact hours to be recognized according to 12 AAC 54.715(a)}.

Please view the Continuing Education Information to assist you in management of your continuing education certificates.  Contact licensing staff if you have any questions. 

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes, please send a written request adding your name and mailing address to the Board of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Interested Parties List to:

Regulations Specialist
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
P.O. BOX 110806 Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806

You may also email your request to license@alaska.gov and your request will be forwarded to the regulations specialist.

Direct Access

The Board's statutes do not address direct access (which means that a referral by a doctor is not necessary for care by a physical therapist or occupational therapist). It is the Board's opinion that Alaska is a direct access state; however, licensees and consumers should be aware that insurance companies may have their own directives regarding this topic.