Real Estate Commission

Applicants & Licensees

General Information

Types of Licenses

There are three types of real estate licenses. They are:

Broker: a person who operates their own real estate business or acts as a broker for a corporation or partnership.

Associate Broker: a person who has met the qualifications to become a broker but continues to work in association with another broker rather than having a business of his/her own.

Salesperson: a person working in the office of a real estate broker as an employee or independent contractor.

Prerequisites for all Licenses

In accordance with AS 08.88.171, a person desiring to acquire any type of real estate license in Alaska must:

  • Pass the appropriate exam
  • Not be under indictment for conspiracy to defraud, or fraud.
  • Apply for licensure within six months after passing the exam.
  • Pay the appropriate fees [12 AAC 64.073 and 12 AAC 02.360]
  • Meet the appropriate education requirements.