Tourism Development and Marketing

Alaska Tour Guide Training Program

Overview

Alaska Tour Guide Training is a 2 1/2 day workshop that generates economic activity in communities by helping residents get hired as tour guides and helping guides start their own tour businesses. The curriculum explores the elements that make up a successful and compelling tour.

The training provides hands-on practice working with different learning styles of guests and meeting visitor expectations. The art of interpretation and telling a story rests at the core of this training program.

Alaska Tour Guide Training

Photo Credit: Odin Brudie

Current Alaska Tour Guide Trainers

Odin Brudie (Master Trainer)
Juneau
907-209-4344
odin@gci.net

Dave Doughty
Kayak Adventures Worldwide
Seward
907-224-3960
dave@kayakak.com

Janelle Eklund
Wrangell Institute for Science and Environment
Copper Center
907-822-3282
jeklund@cvinternet.net

Melissa Houston
UA Center for Economic Development
907-786-5423
mahouston@uaa.alaska.edu

Anthony Nakazawa
UAF Cooperative Extension
Anchorage
907-786-6323
atnakazawa@alaska.edu

Linda Nicklin (Master Trainer)
Gastineau Guiding
Juneau
907-723-3981
lindawhit@hotmail.com

Joel Probst (Master Trainer)
Northern Safety Operations
Juneau
907-523-9094
info@northernsafetyoperations.com

Dan L. Wetzel
Nature Alaska Tours
Fairbanks
907-488-3746
dwetzel@alaska.net

Spring Class Schedule

Alaska Tour Guide Training for Guides
May 21 to May 23, 2014
Prince William Sound Community College
Valdez, Alaska
There is a $195 fee paid to the PWSCC for this class. Sign up at 907-834-1600 or 1-800-478-8800
Or contact: Jannelle Eklund at jeklund@cvinternet.net or 907-822-3282

If you are a trainer and are scheduling a class, please contact staff to have your class listed.

Contact Us

Caryl McConkie
Development Specialist
907-465-5478
caryl.mcconkie@alaska.gov