
 

BULLETIN B96-06 

TO: All Licensees, Insurance Companies, and Interested Parties 

PURPOSE: This bulletin provides information regarding insurance-related legislation passed in 1996 by the 

Legislature. 

CH15 SLA96 / SB178—SMALL EMPLOYER HEALTH INSURANCE. Increasing the number of eligible 

employees that constitute an employer group for purposes of providing small employer health insurance from 25 to 

50; amending the definition of "small employer"; and requiring an annual report from the Small Employer Health 

Reinsurance Association through December 31, 1999. Effective date: July 16, 1996 

CH16 SLA96 / HB226—BENEFIT DISCRIMINATION BASED ON SPOUSE OR KIDS. Permitting the provision 

of different retirement and health benefits to certain employees by differentiating between benefits provided to 

employees with spouses or children and to other employees. Effective date: July 28, 1996 

CH43 SLA96 / SB261—UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION. Relating to the release of employment security 

records; relating to an injunction or an employer’s security for delinquent unemployment insurance contributions; 

extending time periods for redetermination and appeals for unemployment insurance; relating to overpayment or the 

redetermination of unemployment benefits; relating to availability for work, seeking work, and the calculation of 

wages for unemployment insurance purposes; relating to voluntary federal tax withholding from unemployment 

insurance benefits; relating to the definition of the "waiting week" for employment security purposes. Effective date: 

July 1, 1996 

CH49 SLA96 / SB193—MANDATORY INSURANCE FOR COSTS OF BIRTH. Requiring insurance coverage for 

certain costs of birth. The insurer must provide coverage for hospitalization or medical care for at least 48 hours 

after vaginal birth, and 96 hours after caesarian birth. The new law applies to a policy of insurance issued or 

renewed on or after June 1, 1996. Effective date: June 1, 1996 

CH56 SLA96 / SB31—HEALTH INSURANCE NOMENCLATURE. Changes the term "disability" to "health" in 

the context of insurance coverage. Common usage of the term "disability" refers not to health insurance, but to loss 

of income or disability income insurance. This bill changes the term "disability" to "health" to better reflect the type 

of insurance being regulated. Effective date: October 9, 1996 

CH74 SLA96 / SB25—INSURANCE FOR PROSTATE AND CERVICAL CANCER TESTS. Relating to 

insurance coverage for costs of prostate or cervical cancer detection. Insurers are required when writing health 

insurance in Alaska to provide coverage for costs of prostate cancer screening tests and cervical cancer screening 

tests per schedules established for each test within the bill. The new law applies to an insurance policy entered into 

or renewed on or after September 18, 1996. Effective date: September 18, 1996 

CH75 SLA96 / HB308—UNIFORM PROBATE CODE REVISIONS. Relating to the Uniform Probate Code, 

including nonprobate transfers, guardianships, trusts, and multiple-party accounts; relating to the Uniform 

Simultaneous Death Act. Effective date: January 1, 1997 



CH83 SLA96 / HB393—MANAGED CARE PROGRAM FOR MEDICAID. Relating to managed care for 

recipients of medical assistance. Effective date: June 21, 1996 

CH96 SLA96 / HB48—MOTORCYCLE HELMET STANDARDS. Repeals and reenacts Alaska Statute 28.35.245 

regarding motorcycle helmet standards. Effective date: September 23, 1996 

CH107 SLA96 / SB98—WELFARE REFORM; TEMPORARY ASSISTANCE PROGRAM. While this bill made 

numerous changes to Alaska’s welfare program, only Sections 23, 53, and 61 apply to the division. Section 23 

mandates the division to verify that all initial and renewing license applicants are not on a list of obligors who are 

not in compliance with the Child Support Enforcement Agency (CSEA). As soon as a match occurs, a notice will be 

sent to the applicant by the division informing the applicant of the division’s intent to withhold issuance or renewal 

of the license. The notice will contain information on how to contact CSEA and that CSEA must issue a release in 

order for the applicant to receive the license. The notice will also inform the applicant that if the applicant has 

complied with all licensing requirements, the division will only be able to issue a one-time 150-day temporary 

license. Section 23 also contains provisions for the applicant to challenge being included on CSEA’s listing and 

CSEA’s various notice requirements to the applicant and division. The section also allows CSEA to contract with 

the division (and all other affected state licensing entities) for implementation of this program and to provide federal 

funds to the licensing entities. The division will establish by regulation and then assess a fee for the issuance of the 

temporary license. 

Section 53 requires CSEA to report to the Governor within 18 months of the effective date of the section. Licensing 

entities will provide statistical information to CSEA for inclusion in the report. 

Section 61 states that Sections 23 and 53 take effect on the effective date of a federal law that requires the state to 

have procedures under which the state has the authority to withhold or suspend, or to restrict the use of driver’s 

licenses or professional and occupational licenses of individuals owing overdue child support. This is currently 

anticipated to be October 1, 1996. 

HB434 UNCLAIMED PROPERTY. The bill makes relatively minor changes to the reporting requirements of life 

insurers regarding unclaimed property. The bill was passed by the Legislature, but final action is pending. 

Please contact the Alaska Legislative Information Office nearest you for copies of these new laws. 

If you have access to the Internet, these laws may be found at the following address: 

"http://www.legis.state.ak.us/folio.pgi/sl96/query=*/toc/[@21]?". 

Dated this 14th day of August 1996. 

 
Marianne K. Burke 

Director of Insurance 

 


