STATE OF ALASKA
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
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STATE OF ALASKA

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

TO:

DIVISION OF INSURANCE

CEASE AND DESIST ORDER 94-04

Jennifer Van Miegham
Gardner & White
P.O. Box 40948

Indianapolis, IN 46240-0948

It has been determined by the Division of Insurance that you have engaged in

transacting a business of insurance in Alaska, or relative to a subject resident,

located

or to be performed in Alaska. The transaction of a business of

insurance in Alaska is defined in AS 21.90.900(39), which states:

"Transact" with respect to insurance includes

(A)
(B)
(©

(D)

solicitation and inducement;

preliminary negotiations;

effectuation of contract of insurance;

transaction of matters subsequent to effectuation of the contract of

insurance and arising out of it.
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In order to transact insurance in Alaska, a person must hold the appropriate

license. This is required by AS 21.27.010(a) which states:

A person may not act as or represent to be an insurance producer,
managing general agent, reinsurance intermediary broker, reinsurance
intermediary manager, surplus lines broker, or independent adjuster in
this state or relative to a subject resident, located or to be performed in
this state unless licensed under this chapter. A person may not act as or
represent to be a managing general agent, reinsurance intermediary
broker, or reinsurance intermediary manager representing an insurer
domiciled in this state regarding a risk located outside this state unless

licensed by this state.

If you are transacting business as a Third-Party Administrator (TPA),

registration is required under AS 21.27.630(a)(6) which states:

(a) A person may not act as or represent to be a third-party administrator
in this state or relative to a subject resident, located, or to be performed in
this state, unless registered under this chapter or in another jurisdiction
under AS 21.27.650. A person may not act as or represent to be a

third-party administrator representing an insurer domiciled in this state
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regarding a risk located outside this state unless registered by this state

under the provisions of this chapter.

(b) A third-party administrator may not transact business for a kind or

class of insurance for which the person is not registered.

AS 21.27.440(a) states:

In addition to any other penalty provided by law, a person that the director
determines under AS 21.06.170 - 21.06.240 has violated the provisions of

this chapter is subject to

(1) a civil penalty equal to the compensation promised, paid, or to be

paid, directly or indirectly, to a licensee in regard to each violation;

(2) either a civil penalty of not more than $10,000 for each violation or
a civil penalty of not more than $25,000 for each violation if the director
determines that the person willfully violated the provisions of this chapter;

and

(3) denial, nonrenewal, suspension or revocation of a license.
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Since you do not hold the appropriate license and have been transacting the
business of insurance in this state, you are hereby ordered to cease and desist
from further violation of Alaska Law. Continued transaction of insurance in
Alaska will be considered a gross and willful violation and will be subject to

appropriate administrative action, as well as possible criminal remedies.

Enclosed are the application forms to apply for licensure/registration.
Instructions for application are indicated on the forms. If you determine that

you may qualify for the TPA exemption, you must advise the division in

|| writing and provide supporting documentation. Documentation would include

an original certification issued by your home state reflecting
licensure/registration as a TPA; or, if your home state does not issue
certifications, a statement from your home state insurance department

explaining that the license you hold grants you TPA authority.

This order is effective immediately.

AH2Ad ,
Dated at Juneau, Alaska this 7/2 5 day of% éd‘féj/ , 1994,

/

/l

D
/ \i\\ //// ,/"’ / / ‘
V/\\\-/f [ L
David J. Walsh/, Diréctor
Division of In/s'urance
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