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STATE OF ALASKA
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
DIVISION OF INSURANCE

CEASE AND DESIST ORDER D94-13

| TO: Security/Lenhardt Insurance

P.O. Box 1127
Canby, OR 97013

It has been determined by the Division of Insurance that you have engaged in

transacting a business of insurance in Alaska, or relative to a subject resident,

located or to be performed in Alaska. The transaction of a business of

' insurance in Alaska is defined in AS 21.90.900(39), which states:

"Transact" with respect to insurance includes
(A) solicitation and inducement;
(B) preliminary negotiations;
(C) effectuation of contract of insurance;
(D) transaction of matters subsequent to effectuation of the confract of
insurance and arising out of it.
In order to transact insurance in Alaska, a person must hold the appropriate
license. This is required by AS 21.27.010(a) which states:
A person may not act as or represent to be an insurance producer, managing
general agent, reinsurance intermediary broker, reinsurance intermediary
manager, surplus lines broker, or independent adjuster in this state or
relative to a subject resident, located or to be performed in this state unless
licensed under this chapter. A person may not act as or represent to be a
managing general agent, reinsurance intermediary broker, or reinsurance
intermediary manager representing an insurer domiciled in this state

regarding a risk located outside this state unless licensed by this state.
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AS 21.27.440(a) states:

In addition to any other penalty provided by law, a person that the director
determines under AS 21.06.170 - 21.06.240 has violated the provisions of this

chapter is subject to
(1)  a civil penalty equal to the compensation promised, paid, or to
be paid, directly or indirectly, to a licensee in regard to each

violation;

(2) either a civil penalty of not more than $10,000 for each violation

or a civil penalty of not more than $25,000 for each violation if
the director determines that the person willfully violated the

provisions of this chapter; and
(3)  denial, nonrenewal, suspension or revocation of a license.
AS 21.90.020 states:

A person determined by the director, following an appropriate hearing as
provided in AS 21.06.170 - AS 21.06.230, to have violated a provision of this
title or a regulation adopted under it, for which violation a greater penalty is
not provided in this title, is subject to a civil penalty of not more than

$2,500.
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Since you do not hold the appropriate license and have been transacting the
business of insurance in this state, you are hereby ordered to cease and desist
from further violation of Alaska Law. Continued transaction of insurance in
Alaska will be considered a gross and willful violation and will be subject to

appropriate administrative action, as well as possible criminal remedies.

This order is effective immediately.

Dated at Juneau, Alaska this

day of May, 1994.

L%
Dawvid J/W alsh, Director

Division of Insurance

DW/br075.1b
042794a




