ALASKA DIVISION OF INSURANCE FILING CHECKLIST

Homeowners Insurance Forms

POLICY
PROVISION REFERENCE COMMENTS PAGE #
3 AAC 26.500- A policy that limits coverage for attorney fees taxable against an insured under
550 Alaska Rule of Civil Procedure 82 must satisfy the minimum standards of 3 AAC
o 26.500-3 AAC 26.550. Bulletin 96-04 provides sample notices.
. .. | Order R96-03
Alaska Rule of Civil | 5 "o "0 c” 0 Therchik v. Grant Aviation, Inc. (7/25/2003) - Alaska Supreme Court ruled that

Procedure 82

Supreme Court
Case No. SP-5715

Civil Rule 82 notices must be "close to identical" to notices in Bulletin 96-04. The
notices provided with Bulletin 96-04 must be used. Replacement notices may be
submitted for review, but you will be required to demonstrate that the sample
notices do not meet the needs of your company.

The time frames and appraisal process must be consistent with the statute. Each
party must bear expenses and fees, not including counsel & adjusters’ fees, as

Appraisal AS 21.96.035 determined by the umpire. Neither the rights of the insured nor the insurer are
restricted.
. . AS 09.43.300- Contracts entered into after January 1, 2005 must comply with the Revised
Arbitration .595 Unif Arbitration Act. includi Alask
3 AAC 26.075 niform Arbitration Act, including an Alaskan venue.

Arbitration Fees

AS 09.43.480(d)

Arbitrator’s expenses and fees, along with other expenses, shall be paid as
provided in the award.

Cancellation Fee

AS 21.36.255(a)

If the insured cancels a policy, the insurer may charge a cancellation fee of not
more than 7.5% of the unearned premium. A cancellation fee may not be
charged unless the fee is clearly stated in the policy. A statement that the
cancellation fee will not exceed 7.5% does not satisfy this requirement. The
exact amount of the fee must be stated.

A form that describes the cancellation fee only as the standard short rate will be
disapproved.
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AS 21.36.210(f) Personal insurance, other than a personal automobile policy, may only be
cancelled by the insurer for:
non-payment of premium;
C llati conviction of the insured for a crime having as one of its necessary elements
anceliation an act increasing a hazard insured against;
reasons for a e discovery of fraud or misrepresentation by the insured or a representative in
personal obtaining the insurance or pursuing a claim;
insurance policy ¢ discovery of a grossly negligent act or omission which substantially increases
other than the hazards insured against; or
e physical changes in the property which result in the property becoming
personal uninsurable.
automobile AS 21.36.210(d) | These reasons do not apply to the failure to renew a policy, except policies that
have been in effect for less than 12 months, and to a new business policy that
has been in effect for less than 60 days at the time the cancellation notice is
mailed.
If an insurer cancels, a written notice must be mailed to the named insured at
least:
. e 10-day notice for discovery of fraud or material misrepresentation made by
Canf:ellatlon the insured, etc. (see statutes);
Notice for a AS 21.36.220(a) e 20-day notice for nonpayment of premium, etc. (see statutes);
Personal e — e 30-day notice before the effective date of the cancellation for any other

Insurance Policy

reason.

If the insured is 70 years old or older, the policy should indicate that a
cancellation notice will be sent to the named insured’s designee, if elected.

Claim Payment

3 AAC
26.070(a)(2)

Undisputed portions of a first party claim must be paid within 30 working days.

Concealment,
Fraud Or
Misrepresentation

AS 21.42.110

All statements and descriptions in an application shall be considered to be
representations and not warranties.

A policy may be cancelled upon discovery of fraud or material misrepresentation;
or may be rescinded upon discovery of fraud or material misrepresentation made
in the application for insurance.
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Insurers may not deny a claim if a risk, hazard, or contingency insured against is
the dominant cause of a loss and the denial occurs because an excluded risk,
Concurrent hazard, or contingency is also in a chain of causes but operates on a secondary
Causation AS 21.36.096 basis. Language such as “regardless of any other cause which may have
contributed concurrently or in any sequence with” appearing in exclusions or
limitations violates this statute.
AS Reconsideration certification is required to be filed if credit will be used to
21.36.460(e),(f) underwrite or rate personal insurance coverage.
Bulletin 18-08

Credit information
use

AS 21.36.460(a)

Disclosure on application and at renewal: Use of the following language will
constitute compliance with the notice provision of this statute:

In connection with this application for insurance or notice of renewal,
we will review your credit report or obtain or use a credit-based
insurance score based on the information contained in your credit

Bulletin 03-07 report. We may use this information to decide whether to insure you or
Bulletin 03-11 how much to charge.
Bulletin 18-08 If a third-party is used to calculate the insurance score, the notice must also
include language similar to the following:
We may use a third-party in connection with the development of your
insurance score.
Entire Contractin
Policy AS 21.42.150 The policy must contain the entire contract between the parties.
Examination AS 21.42.130 An insured must be allowed to have legal representation present when examined

Under Oath

under oath.

Form Numbers

AS 21.42.160(d)
3 AAC 31.250(a)

Each form must have an identifying form number. When a change is made to a
form the designating letters, figures, terms, or other unique identifier shall be
changed.

Fungus, Mildew
and Mold
Exclusions

AS 21.36.096
Bulletin 04-07

Coverage for fungus, mildew or mold may not be excluded when it results from a
covered cause of loss.

-3- Homeowners Insurance Forms Checklist - Rev. 12/23




POLICY

PROVISION REFERENCE COMMENTS PAGE #
Intentional Acts Coverage may not be refused, cancelled, denied, or increased based only on the
. AS 21.36.430 . R
Exclusion fact that a person was a victim of domestic violence
AS 09.10.053

Lawsuits Against

Supreme Court
Case No. 1780

Kaiser v. Umialik

A person has three years to bring an action upon a contract.

In Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co v. Sand Lake Lounge, Inc. (09/24/1973), the Alaska
Supreme Court ruled that such a time limitation begins to run only after there

Ins.
Insurer _ has been a breach of contract such as a denial of a claim or failure to defend. A
No. SP-5877 ) R :
form that states the time limitation begins from the date of the occurrence or
Brannon v. time of loss will be disapproved.
Continental Cas.
No. SP-6016
Blanket lead exclusions are deceptive to the risk assumed and may not be used.
Lead Exclusions AS 21.42.130 For risks with known lead exposure, individual risk filings may be made
describing the exposure and justifying the need for the exclusion.
Minimum Earned | AS

Premium

21.36.255(a)(2)

Minimum earned premiums must be stated in the policy.

Non-Renewal

AS 21.36.240

A non-renewal notice must be sent at least:
e 20 days before expiration of a personal insurance policy; and
e 45 days before the expiration of a business or commercial policy.

Non-renewal based solely on the earliest claim made by the insured within the
immediately preceding three-year period and arising out of a criminal act
committed by a third party is not permitted.
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Other Insurance

AS 21.42.130

Making a primary policy excess over any other applicable insurance is misleading
and grounds for disapproval under AS 21.42.130.

Policy Contents

AS 21.42.160

General policy content requirements such as names of parties to the contract,
premium, conditions, etc. See the statute for details.

Proof Of Notice

AS 21.36.260

All notices must be mailed by first class mail to the last known address of the
insured. A certificate of mailing, or certified mail receipt, must be obtained from
the U.S. Postal Service or, the notice may be transmitted electronically if the
insurer can obtain an electronic confirmation of receipt; a receipt from sending a
Certified Mail letter is acceptable. Alternate methods of delivery may be used in
addition to mailing or acceptable electronic transmittal, but cannot be used to
replace the statutory requirement.

Renewal Notice
With Altered
Terms

AS 21.36.235

Notice must be given if the renewal premium is increased by more than 10% or
if there is a material restriction or reduction in coverage at least:

e 20 days before the expiration of a personal insurance policy; or

e 45 days before the expiration of a business or commercial policy.

Time Limit on
Filing Claims

AS 21.42.130

Supreme Court
Case No. S-2408

An insurer may not put a blanket limitation on the time in which an insured has

to file claims. In Estes v. Alaska Insurance Guaranty Association (05/26/1989),

the Alaska Supreme Court ruled that an insurer must show prejudice due to late
reporting of a claim in order to be excused from meeting its obligations.

Unearned
Premium Refund
Insured Cancel

AS 21.36.255

The insurer must return any unearned premium: (a) within 45 days of receipt of
a request for cancellation, or (b) the effective date of cancellation, whichever is
later.

]

Unearned
Premium Refund
Insurer Cancel

AS 21.36.220(c)

The unearned premium must be refunded before effective date of cancellation
except for the reasons stated in AS 21.36.220(c)(1). Then the refund must be
within 45 days after the notice of cancellation.

Name (print):

Signature:

Date:
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	Untitled

	A policy that limits coverage for attorney fees taxable against an insured under Alaska Rule of Civil Procedure 82 must satisfy the minimum standards of 3 AAC 265003 AAC 26550 Bulletin 9604 provides sample notices Therchik v Grant Aviation Inc 7252003  Alaska Supreme Court ruled that Civil Rule 82 notices must be close to identical to notices in Bulletin 9604 The notices provided with Bulletin 9604 must be used Replacement notices may be submitted for review but you will be required to demonstrate that the sample notices do not meet the needs of your company: 
	The time frames and appraisal process must be consistent with the statute Each party must bear expenses and fees not including counsel  adjusters fees as determined by the umpire Neither the rights of the insured nor the insurer are restricted: 
	Contracts entered into after January 1 2005 must comply with the Revised Uniform Arbitration Act including an Alaskan venue: 
	Arbitrators expenses and fees along with other expenses shall be paid as provided in the award: 
	If the insured cancels a policy the insurer may charge a cancellation fee of not more than 75 of the unearned premium A cancellation fee may not be charged unless the fee is clearly stated in the policy A statement that the cancellation fee will not exceed 75 does not satisfy this requirement The exact amount of the fee must be stated A form that describes the cancellation fee only as the standard short rate will be disapproved: 
	COMMENTS_2: 
	Personal insurance other than a personal automobile policy may only be cancelled by the insurer for  nonpayment of premium  conviction of the insured for a crime having as one of its necessary elements an act increasing a hazard insured against  discovery of fraud or misrepresentation by the insured or a representative in obtaining the insurance or pursuing a claim  discovery of a grossly negligent act or omission which substantially increases the hazards insured against or  physical changes in the property which result in the property becoming uninsurable These reasons do not apply to the failure to renew a policy except policies that have been in effect for less than 12 months and to a new business policy that has been in effect for less than 60 days at the time the cancellation notice is mailed: 
	If an insurer cancels a written notice must be mailed to the named insured at least  10day notice for discovery of fraud or material misrepresentation made by the insured etc see statutes  20day notice for nonpayment of premium etc see statutes  30day notice before the effective date of the cancellation for any other reason If the insured is 70 years old or older the policy should indicate that a cancellation notice will be sent to the named insureds designee if elected: 
	Undisputed portions of a first party claim must be paid within 30 working days: 
	All statements and descriptions in an application shall be considered to be representations and not warranties A policy may be cancelled upon discovery of fraud or material misrepresentation or may be rescinded upon discovery of fraud or material misrepresentation made in the application for insurance: 
	COMMENTS_3: 
	Insurers may not deny a claim if a risk hazard or contingency insured against is the dominant cause of a loss and the denial occurs because an excluded risk hazard or contingency is also in a chain of causes but operates on a secondary basis Language such as regardless of any other cause which may have contributed concurrently or in any sequence with appearing in exclusions or limitations violates this statute: 
	Reconsideration certification is required to be filed if credit will be used to underwrite or rate personal insurance coverage: 
	Disclosure on application and at renewal Use of the following language will constitute compliance with the notice provision of this statute In connection with this application for insurance or notice of renewal we will review your credit report or obtain or use a creditbased insurance score based on the information contained in your credit report We may use this information to decide whether to insure you or how much to charge If a thirdparty is used to calculate the insurance score the notice must also include language similar to the following We may use a thirdparty in connection with the development of your insurance score: 
	The policy must contain the entire contract between the parties: 
	An insured must be allowed to have legal representation present when examined under oath: 
	Each form must have an identifying form number When a change is made to a form the designating letters figures terms or other unique identifier shall be changed: 
	Coverage for fungus mildew or mold may not be excluded when it results from a covered cause of loss: 
	COMMENTS_4: 
	Coverage may not be refused cancelled denied or increased based only on the fact that a person was a victim of domestic violence: 
	A person has three years to bring an action upon a contract In Firemans Fund Ins Co v Sand Lake Lounge Inc 09241973 the Alaska Supreme Court ruled that such a time limitation begins to run only after there has been a breach of contract such as a denial of a claim or failure to defend A form that states the time limitation begins from the date of the occurrence or time of loss will be disapproved: 
	Blanket lead exclusions are deceptive to the risk assumed and may not be used For risks with known lead exposure individual risk filings may be made describing the exposure and justifying the need for the exclusion: 
	Minimum earned premiums must be stated in the policy: 
	A nonrenewal notice must be sent at least  20 days before expiration of a personal insurance policy and  45 days before the expiration of a business or commercial policy Nonrenewal based solely on the earliest claim made by the insured within the immediately preceding threeyear period and arising out of a criminal act committed by a third party is not permitted: 
	COMMENTS_5: 
	Making a primary policy excess over any other applicable insurance is misleading and grounds for disapproval under AS 2142130: 
	General policy content requirements such as names of parties to the contract premium conditions etc See the statute for details: 
	All notices must be mailed by first class mail to the last known address of the insured A certificate of mailing or certified mail receipt must be obtained from the US Postal Service or the notice may be transmitted electronically if the insurer can obtain an electronic confirmation of receipt a receipt from sending a Certified Mail letter is acceptable Alternate methods of delivery may be used in addition to mailing or acceptable electronic transmittal but cannot be used to replace the statutory requirement: 
	Notice must be given if the renewal premium is increased by more than 10 or if there is a material restriction or reduction in coverage at least  20 days before the expiration of a personal insurance policy or  45 days before the expiration of a business or commercial policy: 
	An insurer may not put a blanket limitation on the time in which an insured has to file claims In Estes v Alaska Insurance Guaranty Association 05261989 the Alaska Supreme Court ruled that an insurer must show prejudice due to late reporting of a claim in order to be excused from meeting its obligations: 
	The insurer must return any unearned premium a within 45 days of receipt of a request for cancellation or b the effective date of cancellation whichever is later: 
	The unearned premium must be refunded before effective date of cancellation except for the reasons stated in AS 2136220c1 Then the refund must be within 45 days after the notice of cancellation: 
	Name print: 
	Date: 
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