
 

 

 
 

PLEASE READ the application instructions, statutes, and regulations before completing your application.  Please 
retain this information for future reference.  YOU MUST HOLD A PERMANENT LICENSE TO PRACTICE COLLECTION 
AGENCY IN ALASKA. The following must be received by the division before your application can be reviewed:  

 
1. A COMPLETED ONLINE APPLICATION, INCLUDING PAYMENT OF FEES 

Residents   Non-Residents 
Nonrefundable Application Fee:  $50.00      $100.00 
License Fee:    $50.00      $100.00 
Total Fees Due:    $100.00      $200.00  
 
Note: You may only pay with a credit card when submitting an online application. The online application 
is not complete until you have completed the credit card payment online. 
 
2. SURETY BOND - $5,000  
You must provide one of the following: 

a. an original surety bond (form #08-4106a) issued by an insurer or other surety company, with the 
bonding company's power of attorney. The bond must be signed by both the principal and the 
surety; 

OR 

b. an original Time Certificate of Deposit (TCD) or Savings Passbook issued by a bank or trust company 
authorized to do business in Alaska. The certificate or passbook should read, "State of Alaska in 
trust for (Collection Agency)." The original certificate or passbook is held by the state and must be 
accompanied by a completed, signed and notarized Assignment of Cash Deposit Form (form #08-
4106b); 

OR 

c. a cashier's check. Cash will be deposited in a Trust Account established by the state, which does 
NOT pay interest.  

 

LICENSE STATUS:  
Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on June 30 of EVEN-numbered years, regardless of the date of 
issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued to the next biennial expiration date. 
One renewal notice will be mailed at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known address of record.  
 
“YES” RESPONSES:  
A “Yes” response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded “Yes” to 
any professional fitness questions in the application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and both 
charging and closing court documentation.  
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Online Instructions 

 Initial Application for Collection Agency License 



 

PUBLIC INFORMATION:  
Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be 
kept confidential by state or federal law. Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is 
available on the Division’s website at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov under License Search.  
 
ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:  
In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of 
changes of address or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the Division’s website. 
The address of record with the Division will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications and 
correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name.  
 
 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:  
AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a 
professional license is issued or renewed for an individual. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please 
complete the Request for Exception from Social Security Number Requirement form located at 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov or contact the Division for a copy of the form. 
 
STALE DOCUMENTS: 
Application forms, authorizations and verifications older than 12 months from the date the document was received 
by the division will be considered stale; the document must be resubmitted as appropriate before the application 
will be considered by the division or a licensing board. Application documents include the application documents 
and verifications of licensure from other licensing jurisdictions. (12 AAC 02.915) 
 
ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:  
Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence 
was last received from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the 
time of abandonment, the division will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 
days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be 
refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no refund will be issued, and all fees will be 
forfeited. 
 
PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:  
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may 
be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 
to resolve payment issues. 
 
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:  
The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the 
Division’s website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov  
 

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in 
writing with your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to:  
REGULATIONS SPECIALIST 
Email: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
P.O. Box 110806 
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 
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Surety Bond 

 

 
KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS that we, the above-named collection agency, 
as principal, and the agency named below, as surety, are held and firmly bound to the State of Alaska, in the penal sum of FIVE 
THOUSAND DOLLARS ($5,000), lawful money of the United States, for the payment of which we bind ourselves, our heirs, executors, 
administrators, successors and assigns jointly and severally. 

The condition of this obligation is such that, whereas the bonded principal, named above, has applied to the Department of 
Commerce, Community, and Economic Development of the State of Alaska for a collection agency license under the provisions of 
AS 08.24 and is required by the provisions of that law to furnish a bond conditioned as set out in this document. 

Now, therefore, if the above-named collection agency, within 30 days after the close of each fiscal or calendar month, reports and 
pays to customers the net proceeds due and payable of all collections made during that calendar or fiscal month which exceed $20, 
and strictly, honestly, and faithfully complies with the provisions of AS 08.24 and all amendments to it and regulations adopted 
under it, then this obligation is void, otherwise to remain in full force and effect. 

This bond becomes effective and expires on the date listed above. 

The surety may be relieved of future liability under it by giving 60 days' written notice to the principal and to the Department of 
Commerce, Community, and Economic Development of the State of Alaska. 

This bond is one continuing obligation and the liability of the surety for the aggregate of all claims which may arise under it may in 
no event exceed the amount of the penalty set out in it. 

IN WITNESS OF THE ABOVE, principal and surety have signed and sealed this bond on the date listed below. 

08-4106a            (Rev. 03/13/2020)                              Surety Bond Page 1 of 1                      (PRINCIPAL SEAL)                 (SURETY SEAL) 

     COA  

Collection Agency Program 

PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811-0806 
(907) 465-2550 

Email: CollectionAgencies@Alaska.Gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/CollectionAgencies 

Applicant Name:  

DBA Name: 
 

Bond #: 
 Effective 

Date: 
mm/dd/yyyy Expiration 

Date: 
mm/dd/yyyy 

Principal (Applicant) Signature:  Date:  

Surety Name: 
 

Surety Signature: 
 

Date: 
 

Agency Name: 
 

Agency Address: 
 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 
 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
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mailto:CollectionAgencies@Alaska.Gov
file://cedASDSOBFS01/users/HLHAMBERG/HELPFUL%20DOCS/ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/CollectionAgencies
file://cedASDSOBFS01/users/HLHAMBERG/HELPFUL%20DOCS/ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/CollectionAgencies


 

 

  

 

 

 

 
 
 
Statement of Cash Deposit 

 

08-4106b            (Rev. 03/13/2020)                              Statement of Cash Deposit Page 1 of 1 
 

     COA  

Collection Agency Program 

PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811-0806 
(907) 465-2550 

Email: CollectionAgencies@Alaska.Gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/CollectionAgencies 

A certificate of deposit, other negotiable instrument, or cash filed with the commissioner instead of a bond must be 
accompanied by an Assignment of Cash Deposit signed by both the collection agency and bank representative acknowledging 
transfer to the department in accordance with AS 08.24.150. 

 
Applicant Name:  

DBA Name:  

☐   Sole Proprietorship* ☐   Partnership* ☐   Corporation ☐   LLC 

For value received, the undersigned assigns and transfer to the State of Alaska one of the following: 

☐   Certificate of Deposit # ☐   Passbook # ☐   Other Security # and Type 

In the amount of $5,000.00 

Bank Name:  

Bank Address:  
 

APPLICANT AND NOTARY 
The undersigned irrevocably constitutes and appoints the State of Alaska by and through its duly authorized agents as his/her/their 
Attorney-in-Fact to do all things necessary and appropriate to effectuate the purposes of this assignment. It is agreed and understood 
that this assignment shall remain in full force and effect for the period of time provided by law for actions against the surety bond. All 
persons whose names appear on the certificate or passbook account must sign below. 
 

Notary Stamp 
Applicant’s 
Signature:  

Notary Public 
for State of:  Subscribed and Sworn to 

Before me on this Day:  

Notary’s 
Signature:  My Commission Expires:  

 
 

BANK REPRESENTATIVE 
By signature below, the issuing institution agrees that only the State of Alaska, upon presentation of written notice, shall 
cause the release of any and all funds described above. 
 

Bank Representative Signature:  Date:  

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 
 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
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