STATE OF ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS, AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING STATE MEDICAL BOARD

MINUTES OF SPECIAL TELECONFERENCE MEETING

June 24, 2011

By authority of AS 08.01.070 (2) and in compliance with the provisions of AS 44.62, a special teleconference meeting of the Alaska State Medical Board was held on Friday, June 24, 2011.

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Dr. Jean Tsigonis, Chair, at 9:12 a.m.

<u>Roll Call</u>

Present were:

Jean M. Tsigonis, MD, Chair Edward A. Hall, Physician Assistant Kathleen Millar, Public Member William W. Resinger, MD Michael J. Tauriainen, Public Member

Board members John S. Cullen MD, David A. Miller MD, and David J. Powers MD, were unable to attend the meeting.

Also present were Lee Holen, attorney for the Respondent; Gayle Horetski of the Office of the Attorney General, attorney for the Division; and board staff members Debora Stovern, Executive Administrator; Michelle Johnston, Licensing Examiner; Ronelle Beardslee, Licensing Examiner; and David Newman, Investigator.

Agenda Item In the Matter of Case Nos. 2856-08-001 and 2806-09-005

Gayle Horetski presented a signed voluntary surrender agreement to the Board. She noted that it was a standard surrender agreement regarding a license that had been summarily suspended on April 15, 2011, and will resolve the pending appeal by the licensee. He would have the right, under the Administrative Procedures Act, to seek reinstatement of the license, but must wait at least a year to apply, and must prove to the Board that he is competent to resume practice; the Board would have the authority to approve or deny any reinstatement. It was also reported that the Respondent is under a Board order in the State of Washington regarding the same or similar issues, and appears to be in compliance with that order.

Upon a motion duly made by Ms. Millar, seconded by Mr. Tauriainen, and approved by roll call vote, it was:

RESOLVED to accept the voluntary surrender agreement signed by Jesse T. Fenger.

Roll Call Vote: Dr. Tsigonis – Yea Mr. Hall – Recused Ms. Millar – Yea Dr. Resinger – Yea Mr. Tauriainen – Yea

Board Chair Dr. Tsigonis designated Ms. Millar to sign the order on her behalf. Ms. Stovern will provide a copy of the signed order to Ms. Horetski and Ms. Holen and they will follow up with the Office of Administrative Hearings.

The meeting adjourned at 9:21 a.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Approved:

Debora Stovern, Executive Administrator Alaska State Medical Board Jean M. Tsigonis, MD, Chair Alaska State Medical Board

Date

Date