

^{of} ALASKA Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Online Instructions

Initial Application of Emergency Permit

PLEASE READ the application instructions, statutes, and regulations before completing your application. Please retain this information for future reference. THIS PERMIT IS ONLY FOR THE PURPOSE OF MEETING PHARMACY STAFFING NEEDS IN THE EVENT OF A DECLARED HEALTH CRISIS IN THE STATE OF ALASKA. YOU MUST HOLD A PERMANENT LICENSE IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION TO PRACTICE AS A PHARMACIST, PHARMACIST INTERN, OR PHARMACY TECHNICIAN UNDER AN EMERGENCY PERMIT IN ALASKA.

1. A COMPLETED ONLINE APPLICATION, INCLUDING PAYMENT OF FEES

Nonrefundable Application Fee: \$100.00

Note: You may only pay with a credit card when submitting an online application. The online application is not complete until you have completed the credit card payment online.

Pharmacists who are dispensing controlled substances in Alaska are required to register with the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP). Visit *PDMP.Alaska.Gov* for instructions on how to register. Failure register with the PDMP within 30 days of permit issuance may result in disciplinary action.

Non-dispensing pharmacists are also permitted to have access but must also complete the registration process.

Understand that the permit is only valid for 90 days. If you are not ready for the permit to be issued due to employment not yet secured or travel arrangements that need to be made, please communicate a request to delay processing to *BoardofPharmacy@Alaska.Gov*.

LICENSE STATUS:

Emergency permits are issued for a 90-day period and are not eligible for renewal. To continue practicing beyond the expiration date of an emergency permit, you must apply for permanent licensure. Failure to obtain the appropriate permanent license while continuing to practice is considered unlicensed practice and will be addressed accordingly. Applications can be found at *Pharmacy.Alaska.Gov.*

PRESCRIPTION DRUG MONITORING PROGRAM (PDMP):

Pharmacists who are dispensing controlled substances in Alaska are required to register with the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP). Visit *PDMP.Alaska.Gov* for instructions on how to register. Failure to register with the PDMP within 30 days of permit issuance may result in disciplinary action. If you are not dispensing, you are permitted to have access by completing the registration process.

BOARD OF PHARMACY LIST SERVICE:

To keep apprised of board activities, including discussions and regulations that may apply to and/or affect your license, please subscribe to the Board of Pharmacy's ListServ at the following link: http://list.state.ak.us/mailman/listinfo/akboardofpharmacy

PUBLIC INFORMATION:

Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law. Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the Division's website at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov* under License Search.

(Rev. 10/27/2023)

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:

AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is issued or renewed for an individual. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement form located at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov* or contact the Division for a copy of the form.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division's website: *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov*

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to:

REGULATIONS SPECIALIST

Email: *RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov* Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806