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                     Meeting ID: 899 7778 2177 Passcode: 027364 

                                           Call-In: +1 (669)900- 6833 or (253)215-8782 
 
Wednesday, February 26, 2025 

     
1:30 p.m.    1. Call to Order                                Markwood 

 
   2. Introductions 
  

         3.  Public comments 
          

  4. Topics for review/discuss for consideration for new or revised regulations,  
     create FAQs or Best Practices  

a. Minimum Education Requirements for Licensure – 
-revise Endorsement pre-licensing timeframe,12 AAC 64.063(a)(2) 

b. Education Requirements after Initial License-  
-Broker/AB PLE -non-compliant, 12 AAC 64.064(g) 

c. Temporary Military Courtesy License-add-  
-Employing Broker and E & O Insurance requirement, 12 AAC 64.066 

d. Employment and Transfer-  
-add specific time for processing office change applications,12 AAC 64.075(f)   

e. Requirements for Establishing and Maintaining an Office-  
-add verbiage for physical location-12 AAC 64.110(a) and (b).  

f. Advertising –size of text of office name vs team name -12 AAC 64.130(8) 
 

g. Minor revisions-clean up –  
1. -License Required for Employees, Directors, Agents and Officers 

–12 AAC 64.065 (5)(c) 
2. -Temporary Absence of Broker of Record- 12 AAC 64.078(b)(2)  

h. Other 
 

       5.   Recommendations to Commission, if applicable  
            
  Adjournment 

 
                                            Next REC meeting March 26, 2025  
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Application by Endorsement 
Proposal: Streamlining Application by Endorsement Education Requirements - 12 AAC 64.063. 
Minimum Education Requirements for Licensure.  

Purpose: 
To simplify the Application by Endorsement education requirements for out-of-state licensees seeking 
Alaska Real Estate Commission (REC) licensure. This proposal grants educational credit to applicants with 
more than two years of real estate experience in their license type while ensuring compliance with Alaska-
specific education requirements. Key changes include requiring a 6-hour Alaska Law course and modifying 
the 30-hour Broker Pre-Licensing course to increase Alaska Law instruction from 3 hours to 6 hours. 

Proposed Changes: 

1. Application by Endorsement (No impact on initial licensure by exam)

o Replace the 18–24-month Pre-Licensing Education requirement with a 6-hour Alaska Law
course, to be completed within 18 months of application.

o Require all applicants by Endorsement to submit proof of completion/certification for the
equivalent pre-licensing education based on their license type:

 Broker/Associate Broker: Equivalent 30-hour Broker Pre-Licensing (BPL).
 Salesperson: Equivalent 40-hour Salesperson Pre-Licensing (SPL).

2. Modification to Broker Pre-Licensing Education Requirements

o Increase the Alaska Law component of the 30-hour Broker Pre-Licensing course from 3
hours to 6 hours to enhance state-specific regulatory knowledge within the approved
courses.

This proposal maintains high educational standards while making the licensing process more efficient for 
experienced professionals entering Alaska’s real estate market. 

Proposed Regulation: 
12 AAC 64.063. MINIMUM EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE. (a) All real estate education 
courses used to qualify for initial licensure must 

(1) meet the requirements of 12 AAC 64.400 - 12 AAC 64.470 and this section; and
(2) have been completed within the 18 months immediately preceding the date of application, except that

the real estate education courses used to qualify for initial licensure by endorsement must have completed the 
6hr Alaska Law Course within the 18 months immediately preceding the date of application. 

(b) To meet the real estate education requirements for licensure under AS 08.88.171(a) or (b), an applicant
for a broker or associate broker license must document completion of the following contact hours of education 
in the following topics: except that the real estate education courses the applicant used to qualify for initial 
licensure by endorsement must submit education documentation that is comparable to Alaska education 
requirements including topics and hours listed in 12 ACC 64.063(b)(1-5) to obtain a license in another jurisdiction; 

(1) broker supervision requirements and record keeping - four contact hours;
(2) trust accounting procedures - three contact hours;
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(3) organizing and managing a real estate office - three contact hours;
(4) property management – two contact hours; and
(5) broker-level education to understand the applicability of the following areas covered previously in

the applicant’s initial education course to receive a real estate salesperson license: 
(A) licensee relationships, disclosure, and conflict of interest – three contact hours;
(B) forms of ownership - two contact hours;
(C) property law, public and private rights and limitations - two contact hours;
(D) forms of conveyances and recording of documents - two contact hours;
(E) contracts and transaction documents - two contact hours;
(F) financing instruments and accounting principles - two contact hours;
(G) Alaska real estate license law and Alaska landlord tenant law – six (6) contact hours; and
(H) federal fair housing and Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA) laws - two contact hours.

(c) To meet the real estate education requirements for licensure under AS 08.88.171(c), an applicant
for an initial real estate license shall document completion of the following topics and hours: initial real estate 
license shall document completion of the following topics and hours: except that the real estate education 
courses the applicant used to qualify for initial licensure by endorsement must submit education 
documentation that is comparable to Alaska education requirements including topics and hours listed in 12 ACC 
64.063(c)(1-8) to obtain a license in another jurisdiction: 

(1) licensee relationships, disclosure, and conflict of interest - six contact hours;
(2) forms of ownership - four contact hours;
(3) property law, public and private rights and limitations - four contact hours;
(4) forms of conveyances and recording of documents - four contact hours;
(5) contracts and transaction documents - eight contact hours;
(6) financing instruments and accounting principles - six contact hours;
(7) Alaska real estate license law and Alaska landlord tenant law - six contact hours; and
(8) federal fair housing and RESPA laws - two contact hours.

(e) An associate broker who has met the education requirements in (b) of this section does not need to repeat
those requirements when upgrading to a broker license.

Authority:    AS 08.88.081    AS 08.88.091    AS 08.88.171 
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Current Regulation: 
12 AAC 64.063. MINIMUM EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE. (a) All real estate education courses 
used to qualify for initial licensure must  

(1) meet the requirements of 12 AAC 64.400 - 12 AAC 64.470 and this section; and
(2) have been completed within the 18 months immediately preceding the date of application, except that the real
estate education courses used to qualify for initial licensure by endorsement must have been completed within the 24
months immediately preceding the date of application.

(b) To meet the real estate education requirements for licensure under AS 08.88.171(a) or (b), an applicant for a broker or
associate broker license must document completion of the following contact hours of education in the following topics:

(1) broker supervision requirements and record keeping - four contact hours;
(2) trust accounting procedures - three contact hours;
(3) organizing and managing a real estate office - three contact hours;
(4) property management – two contact hours; and
(5) broker-level education to understand the applicability of the following areas covered previously in the
applicant’s initial education course to receive a real estate salesperson license: 

(c) To meet the real estate education requirements for licensure under AS 08.88.171(c), an applicant for an initial real estate
license shall document completion of the following topics and hours:

(1) licensee relationships, disclosure, and conflict of interest - six contact hours;
(2) forms of ownership - four contact hours;
(3) property law, public and private rights and limitations - four contact hours;
(4) forms of conveyances and recording of documents - four contact hours;
(5) contracts and transaction documents - eight contact hours;
(6) financing instruments and accounting principles - six contact hours;
(7) Alaska real estate license law and Alaska landlord tenant law - six contact hours; and
(8) federal fair housing and RESPA laws - two contact hours.

(e) An associate broker who has met the education requirements in (b) of this section does not need to repeat
those requirements when upgrading to a broker license.
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Broker Lapsed Due to PLE 
Proposal: Broker/Associate Broker Lapsed Due to Non-Compliance with Post-Licensing 
Education (PLE) – Downgrade to Salesperson (12 AAC 64.064(g)) 

Purpose: 
To establish clear options for Brokers and Associate Brokers who lapse due to non-compliance 
with Post-Licensing Education (PLE). This proposal provides pathways for licensees to either 
remain in lapsed status, downgrade to a Salesperson license, or reinstate their Broker/Associate 
Broker license, ensuring compliance with Alaska Real Estate Commission (REC) regulations. 

Proposed Changes: 
(a) Remain in Lapsed Status

• If the licensee is an Associate Broker in Charge (ABIC) or Broker, the office must close, and
all licensee relationships will be terminated, reverting affected licensees to License Return
status. A licensee in lapsed status may not perform any real estate activities.

Branch Office Exception:
o If the lapsed licensee was an Associate Broker in Charge (ABIC), the Broker may

designate a new Associate Broker in Charge under 12 AAC 64.075 – Employment
and Transfer.

o A newly appointed Broker or Associate Broker in Charge may operate for up to 10
days while awaiting the completion of office changes and issuance of an amended
certificate. This provision applies to licensees with active or license return status.

(b) Downgrade to Salesperson License
A lapsed Broker or Associate Broker may downgrade to a Salesperson license by:

1. Submitting a complete Application for License Transfer (Downgrade to Salesperson).
2. Paying a $120 fee.

(c) Reinstatement from Lapsed Status Due to Non-Compliance with PLE
• An Associate Broker in Charge (ABIC) or Broker must register a new office upon

reinstatement.

This proposal ensures a structured approach to handling license lapses due to PLE non-
compliance, allowing for regulatory adherence while providing flexibility for licensees to continue 
their professional practice through reinstatement or downgrade options. 

Additional Requirements: 

Salesperson Licensees Seeking to Upgrade to Broker or Associate Broker: 
• Must apply through the Initial Application by Examination, which includes:

o Completion of Pre-Licensing Education.
o Successful completion of the Broker/Associate Broker Exam.
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Current Regulation: 
12 AAC 64.064. EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS AFTER INITIAL LICENSE. (a) In addition to the 
education requirements of 12 AAC 64.063 for an initial license and the continuing education 
requirements under 12 AAC 64.500 for license renewal, within one year after the date that the 
commission issues an initial license to a real estate licensee under this chapter, the licensee shall 
complete 30 hours of education that meets the applicable requirements of (b) or (c) of this section.  

(g) A licensed salesperson issued an initial license as a broker or associate broker who fails 
to meet the educational requirements under (a) of this section, shall upon application and 
payment of the required fees, be reissued a salesperson’s license provided that the licensee 
continues to be eligible for a salesperson’s license.  

Authority: AS 08.88.071 AS 08.88.091 AS 08.88.095 

Current Statute:  

  

 

Sec. 08.88.095. Educational requirements after initial license. (a) In addition to the 
continuing educational requirements of AS 08.88.091(d), within one year after the date that the 
commission issues an initial license under this chapter, the licensee shall complete 30 hours 
of education approved by the commission under AS 08.88.091.  

(c) Within 30 days after the end of the one-year period, the licensee shall submit, on a 
form provided by the commission, a certification that the licensee has completed the 
educational requirements.  

(e) If a licensee fails to complete the educational requirements within the one-year 
period or to provide the certification required by (c) of this section, the license 
automatically lapses 30 days after the end of the one-year period. However, the 
commission may reinstate the license under AS 08.88.241.  
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Requirement of Employing Broker Form, Alaska 
Education/6hr Law, and E&O 
Proposal: Amendment to 12 AAC 64.066 – Temporary Military Courtesy License 

Purpose: 
To enhance the Temporary Military Courtesy License process by requiring an Employing Broker Form, 
Alaska equivalent education, and verification of current Errors & Omissions (E&O) insurance, ensuring 
compliance with existing licensing standards. These requirements were not originally included when 
the regulation was created and are necessary for regulatory oversight and consumer protection. 

Proposed Changes: 
Current Regulation: 
12 AAC 64.066 provides a Temporary Military Courtesy License for qualified military members and 
spouses but does not require: 

• A completed Employing Broker Form to verify supervision.
• Proof of current Errors & Omissions (E&O) insurance coverage as required for all actively

licensed real estate professionals.

Amended Language: 
12 AAC 64.066 – Temporary Military Courtesy License shall be revised to include the following 
additional requirements: 
(1) Employing Broker Form Requirement:

• Applicants must submit a completed Employing Broker Form, signed by the supervising broker,
verifying sponsorship and compliance with state real estate supervision requirements.

(2) Proof of License Type Education and 6hr Alaska Law:
• Require all applicants by Temporary Military Courtesy License to submit proof of

completion/certification for the Alaska 6hr Law course, and equivalent pre-licensing education
based on their license type:

o Broker/Associate Broker: Equivalent 30-hour Broker Pre-Licensing (BPL).
o Salesperson: Equivalent 40-hour Salesperson Pre-Licensing (SPL).

(2) Errors & Omissions (E&O) Insurance Verification:
• Applicants must provide proof of current E&O insurance coverage, meeting the minimum

coverage requirements established by the commission.

Justification: 
• Ensures all licensees, including those under a military courtesy license, meet the same

professional standards as other real estate professionals in the state.
• Provides proper regulatory oversight by confirming that temporary license holders are under

appropriate broker supervision.
• Aligns the Temporary Military Courtesy License with existing licensing E&O insurance

requirements, ensuring consumer protection.
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This revision strengthens the integrity of the military courtesy licensing process, provides clear 
compliance expectations, and ensures licensed professionals meet all necessary regulatory 
requirements. **This information was not added when this regulation was created.  

 

Current Regulation: 
12 AAC 64.066. TEMPORARY MILITARY COURTESY LICENSE.  
(a) The commission will issue a temporary military courtesy license to an active duty 
military member or spouse of an active duty military member of the armed forces of the 
United States to practice as a real estate broker, associate broker, or salesperson who meets 
the requirements of AS 08.01.063 and this section not later than 30 days after the 
commission receives a completed application. 

(b) An applicant for a temporary military courtesy license under this section 
(1) must submit a completed application on a form provided by the department; 
(2) must pay the temporary license application fee and fee for a temporary license 

set out under 12 AAC 02.105; 
(3) must submit a copy of 

(A) the applicant's current active duty military orders showing assignment to a  
duty station in this state; or 

(B) if the applicant is the spouse of an active duty military member, the applicant's 
spouse's current active duty military orders showing assignment to a duty station in this 
state; 

(4) must submit documentation showing the applicant is actively licensed in another 
licensing jurisdiction and the applicant's license in the other jurisdiction is not suspended, 
revoked, or otherwise restricted except for failure to apply for renewal or failure to obtain 
the required continuing education requirements; and 

(5) may not have been convicted of a crime that affects the applicant's ability to 
practice real estate competently and safely, as determined by the commission. 

(c) A temporary military courtesy license issued under this section is valid for 180 days 
and may be extended for one additional 180-day period upon request by the applicant, at 
the discretion of the commission. 

(d) While practicing under a temporary military courtesy license issued under this 
section, the holder of the temporary military courtesy license shall comply with the 
standards of practice set out in AS 08.88 and this chapter and is subject to discipline under 
AS 08.88.071. 

(e) The commission may refuse to issue a temporary military courtesy license for the 
same reasons that it may deny, suspend, or revoke a license under AS 08.88.171 and 12 
AAC 64.130. 

 
 
Authority: AS 08.01.062   AS 08.01.063   AS 08.88.071                          AS 08.88.081 
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Change of New Broker/Associate Broker 
Proposal: Amendment to Office Change Procedure for Brokers and Associate Brokers 
in Charge - 12 AAC 64.075. Employment and Transfer 

Purpose: 
To clarify and formalize the temporary authority granted to brokers and associate brokers in 
charge when applying for an office change, ensuring a smooth transition while awaiting approval 
of the amended certificate. 

Proposed Changes: Amended Language: 
(f) After submitting a completed application for an office change due to a change of broker or
associate broker in charge, the newly designated broker or associate broker in charge may
assume supervisory duties at that office for up to 10 calendar days while awaiting approval and
issuance of an amended certificate.

• This provision applies only to brokers and associate brokers who hold an active or license
return status at the time of application.

• The broker or associate broker must maintain full compliance with all regulatory
requirements, including trust account oversight and licensee supervision, during the
transition period.

• If the office change application is denied or delayed beyond 10 days, the office must
cease operations under the new broker or associate broker until the amended certificate is
issued.

Justification: This amendment protects consumers, maintains industry integrity, and ensures 
smooth transitions in brokerage leadership. 

• Provides clear guidelines on the broker’s authority during the transition period.
• Ensures regulatory compliance while minimizing business disruption.
• Establishes a definitive process for handling office changes efficiently and transparently.

Current Regulation: 
12 AAC 64.075. EMPLOYMENT AND TRANSFER. 
(a) An individual may not be involved in activities requiring licensure under AS 08.88 until the

individual's employing broker signs and delivers to the commission, either by electronic mail or

regular United States mail, a notice of employment of the individual and the individual's completed

broker notice to real estate commission of licensee termination form is delivered to the broker by the

licensee or the commission.

(b) When a licensee requests a license transfer from one broker to another, the terminating broker 

must complete the broker notice to real estate commission of licensee termination form, provide a 

copy 

of the completed form to the licensee, and submit the completed form to the commission, either by 

electronic mail or regular United States mail, not later than five days from the date of the licensee's 
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request for a license transfer. The licensee shall provide the new employing broker with a copy of 

the completed broker notice to real estate commission of licensee termination form and provide the 

commission with a completed application for license transfer and the fees established in 12 AAC 

02.360. The commission will mail an amended license certificate directly to the new employing 

broker. 

(c) After applying for a license transfer, the licensee may work in the office of the new 

employing broker for not more than 30 days while waiting for an amended license certificate. The 

new employing broker shall keep a copy of the licensee's signed application for license transfer and 

a copy of the completed broker notice to real estate commission of licensee termination form 

described in (b) of this section until the amended license certificate is received. 

(d) The commission’s designee shall review and approve a license transfer if the transfer. 

(1) allows a licensee to resume licensed practice under AS 08.88.171(a)(1), (a)(2), (b)(1), 

or (b)(2), or after being re-employed as a licensed real estate salesperson for purposes of AS 

08.88.171(c); and 

(2) does not require further review by the commission. 

(e) Failure of the licensee to notify the commission of a transfer or status change within 15 days 

after the commission’s receipt, either by electronic mail or regular United States mail, of notice from 

the licensee’s terminating broker interrupts the licensee's period of active and continuous 

experience. 

(f) After applying for an office change for a change of broker or associate broker in 

charge, the broker or associate broker may work in that office as the new broker or 

associate broker in charge for not more than 10 days while waiting for completed office 

changes and amended certificate. This applies to licensed brokers and associate brokers 

in an active or license return license status. 

 
Authority: AS 08.88.081 AS 08.88.171 AS 08.88.251 
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Clarify Physical Principal Office in State 
Proposal: Amendment to 12 AAC 64.110 – Requirement for a Physical Principal Office in the 
State 

Purpose: 
To clarify the requirement that a brokerage's principal office must be a physical location within the 
state, ensuring compliance with regulatory oversight and maintaining accessibility for consumers and 
licensees. 12 AAC 64.110(a) and (b) require that a broker establish a principal office in the state but 
do not explicitly define the nature of the office. 

Proposed Changes: 
Amended Language: 
12 AAC 64.110(a) and (b) – The term "principal office" shall be revised to "physical principal office" 
to clarify that the brokerage must maintain a tangible, in-state location. 

Proposed Revision: 
• (a) A broker shall maintain a physical principal office in this state that complies with the

requirements set forth in this chapter.
• (b) The physical principal office must be a fixed, identifiable location within the state where

the broker conducts business, maintains records, and ensures regulatory compliance.

Justification: 
• Ensures that a brokerage's principal office is a real, in-state location rather than a virtual or

out-of-state entity.
• Enhances consumer protection by ensuring accessibility to brokers and records.
• Aligns with regulatory intent for maintaining oversight of real estate operations within the

state.

This revision clarifies compliance expectations, strengthens regulatory enforcement, and ensures that 
real estate business operations remain physically present within the state. 

Current Regulation: 
12 AAC 64.110. REQUIREMENTS FOR ESTABLISHING AND MAINTAINING AN OFFICE. 

(a) A real estate broker holding an active license shall establish and maintain a
physical principal office in this state. The office in which the broker works and 
maintains the broker’s license is the physical principal office of the broker. 

(b) A broker who maintains offices or branch offices other than the physical principal
office or physical branch shall have an associate broker in charge of each branch office. If a 
broker has an associate broker in charge of an office, the broker is responsible for 
supervision of the associate broker. The operation of a branch office without licensed 
personnel or without an associate broker in charge is grounds for suspension or 

revocation of the broker's license. 
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Size of Text of Office Name vs Team Name 
Proposal: Amendment to Advertising Regulations – Inclusion of Broker’s Business Name 
and Text Size Standardization - 12 ACC 64.130. Grounds For Revocation or Suspension.  

Purpose: 
To ensure clarity and transparency in real estate advertising by requiring that a broker’s 
registered business name is clearly visible in all advertisements. This topic was 
brought up at the January 2025 Commission meeting.

Proposed Change:

Consider text size requirements to prevent confusion between a broker’s business name and 
team branding. The broker’s business name must be prominent and legible in all 
advertisements. If a team name is included in the advertisement, the broker’s business name 
must be equal to or larger than the team name in font size and prominence.

 Justification: 

• Ensures consumers clearly identify the responsible brokerage behind the advertisement.
• Prevents misleading advertisements where team names appear larger than the broker’s

business name, creating confusion about the supervising entity.
• Ensures advertising transparency.

This change enhances consumer protection, ensures broker accountability, and promotes clear 
advertising standards within the real estate industry. 

Current Regulation: 
12 AAC 64.130. GROUNDS FOR REVOCATION OR SUSPENSION. The following acts, in addition 

to those specified elsewhere in this chapter, are grounds for revocation or suspension of a license: 
(1) acting or failing to act as specified in AS 08.88.07l(a)(3);
(2) representing more than one party in a real estate transaction;
(3) failing to account for, remit, or surrender any money, documents, or other property of value

coming into the possession or control of the licensee in the course of a real estate transaction or unreasonably 
delaying the accounting for or disbursal of money, documents, or other property held by or which is the 
responsibility of the broker for parties in a real estate transaction; 

(4) failing to disclose information as required in 12 AAC 64.940;
(A) the listing contract;
(B) repealed 1/9/2014;
(C) the settlement statement;

(5) being found guilty of forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses, larceny,
extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or other similar offenses committed while licensed under this chapter; for the 
purpose of this paragraph, "being found guilty" means a guilty verdict by a judge or jury or pleading nolo 
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contendere or guilty to any of these acts or having a hearing officer find that the licensee participated in these 
at a hearing held in accordance with AS 44.62 (Administrative Procedure Act); 

(6) advertising a property for sale, lease, or rent without first obtaining the written authority of the
owner or the owner's authorized agent to sell, lease, or rent the property; 

(7) paying referral fees, sharing commissions, or otherwise compensating a person who is
prohibited from receiving compensation under AS 08.88.40l(b); 

(8) advertising to buy, sell, rent, lease or exchange any real estate without including in the
advertisement the broker's business name registered with the department; this paragraph applies to all 
real estate advertised to the public including that owned by the licensee; 

(9) failing to disclose to all parties in a real estate transaction the fact that the licensee is licensed
or failing to disclose the name of the broker or company under whom the licensee is licensed; 

(10) employing or using a third-party purchaser, purchasing through corporations, partnerships, or
other entities or working through friends, relatives, or business associates in a way that profits the licensee with 
the effect, in whole or in part, of concealing the profit and the name of the interested licensee; 

(11) acting in violation of the provisions of AS 08.88;
(12) accepting as earnest money anything other than cash unless the offered non-cash substitute is

communicated to the owner before accepting the offer to purchase, and the acceptance of the non-cash substitute 
is identified as a non-cash substitute on the earnest money receipt; 

(13) failing to submit to the seller or the seller's licensee all written bona fide offers received before
the seller accepts another offer in writing and the broker has knowledge of the acceptance; 

(14) failing to disclose to a prospective buyer a known material defect regarding the condition of,
or a known legal defect pertaining to, the offered real estate or interest in real estate; 

(15) engaging in or committing any act which is grounds for denying a license;
(16) for a broker, permitting another person to use the broker's license, whether for

compensation or not, to enable someone other than the broker to establish or carry on a business for which a 
real estate license is required; 

(17) for a broker, allowing a salesperson to operate a real estate business without retaining
control as the employing broker for the business; 

(18) establishing or carrying on a real estate business without a broker's supervision as required
by 12 AAC 64.125; 

(19) being found guilty of violating local, state, or federal fair housing laws.

Authority: AS 08.88.071 AS 08.88.081 AS 08.88.401 
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Clarification of Corporation to Entity 
Proposal: Amendment To Expand "Corporation" To "Entity" In Broker Authorization 
Regulations -12 AAC 64.065. License Required For Employees, Directors, Agents, And Officers. 

Purpose: 
To update regulatory language by replacing "corporation" with "entity", ensuring inclusivity of all 
business structures that may operate under a licensed broker. This amendment allows for a 
broader application to LLCs, partnerships, sole proprietorships, and other legally recognized 
entities in the real estate industry. 

Proposed Changes to Current Regulation (b) & (c): 
The term "corporation" is currently used to define the business structure under which a 
broker may operate, limiting its applicability. 

Justification: 
• Expands regulatory language to include all legally recognized business structures beyond

corporations.
• Ensures consistency with modern business practices, as many real estate firms operate as

LLCs, partnerships, or sole proprietorships.
• Maintains regulatory oversight while allowing greater flexibility in business operations.

This update ensures all real estate business entities can legally comply with broker authorization 
requirements under Alaska law. 

Current Regulation: 
12 AAC 64.065. LICENSE REQUIRED FOR EMPLOYEES, DIRECTORS, AGENTS, AND OFFICERS. 
(a) Repealed 2/11/95.
(b) A broker acting on behalf of a business, corporation, or organization shall be authorized to act
by a resolution of the policy making body of that business, corporation, or organization. The
resolution must be a permanent part of the records of that business, corporation, or organization
and must show that the broker has exclusive authority over and responsibility for

(1) employing and terminating the employment of licensees;
(2) maintaining and examining all trust accounts for real estate transactions;
(3) authorizing payment of all commissions, salaries, finder's fees, or other compensation
for activities for which a license is required and indicating on the payment record the
specific reason for the payment;
(4) maintaining the records of all real estate transactions and assuring their accessibility to
the department; and
(5) directing and supervising all real estate business activities for which a license is
required and all activities necessary for full compliance with AS 08.88 and this chapter.

(c) When a broker who is authorized to act on behalf of a business, corporation, or organization
loses an active broker license for any reason, the business, corporation, or organization shall stop
engaging in real estate transactions until the broker's license is renewed or reinstated, or until a
new broker is employed.

Authority: AS 08.88.071 AS 08.88.161 AS 08.88.900 AS 08.88.081

DRAFT



Broker Supervision During Absence 
Proposal: Amendment to Broker Supervision During Absence – 12 AAC 64.078 

Purpose: 
To provide flexibility and clarity regarding broker supervision when an associate broker is 
unavailable, allowing the substitute Broker to remain employed at their currently registered office 
during the broker of record’s absence, allowing the substitute Broker to be in two offices 
simultaneously. 

Proposed Amendment: 
(2) in offices where an associate broker is not available, the broker of record may enter

into a written contract with another broker to supervise transactions, trust accounts, or licensees
including creating and signing transaction documents during the broker of record’s absence; the
broker temporarily substituting for the broker of record shall remain employed at that the
substitute broker’s currently registered office.

Current Regulation: 

12 AAC 64.078. TEMPORARY ABSENCE OF BROKER OF RECORD. (a) When a broker of 

record is temporarily absent from an office, the broker of record may supervise transactions, trust 

accounts, or licensees by computer, modem, facsimile, or telephone communications. 

(b) When a broker of record is temporarily absent from an office and is unable to supervise

transactions, trust accounts, or licensees. 

(1) in offices where an associate broker is available, the broker of record may designate an

associate broker to supervise transactions, trust accounts, or licensees including creating and signing 

transaction documents during the broker of record’s absence. 

(2) in offices where an associate broker is not available, the broker of record may enter into a

written contract with another broker to supervise transactions, trust accounts, or licensees including 

creating and signing transaction documents during the broker of record’s absence; the broker 

temporarily substituting for the broker of record shall remain employed at that the person’s  

(c) Under (b)(1) or (2) of this section, the broker of record shall notify the commission on a form

approved by the commission, of the name of the associate broker or broker designated to supervise 

transactions, trust accounts, or licensees during the broker of record’s absence. Both the broker of 

record and the designated associate broker or broker must sign this form. 

Authority: AS 08.88.081 AS 08.88.331 AS 08.88.341 

DRAFT


	REC February 26, 2025 Work Meeting 
	Call to Order
	Introductions
	Public Comments
	Agenda
	a.	Minimum Education Requirements for Licensure –

-revise Endorsement pre-licensing timeframe,12 AAC 64.063(a)(2)


	b.	Education Requirements after Initial License- 

-Broker/AB PLE -non-compliant, 12 AAC 64.064(g)


	c.	Temporary Military Courtesy License-add- 

-Employing Broker and E & O Insurance requirement, 12 AAC 64.066


	d.	Employment and Transfer- 

-add specific time for processing office change applications,12 AAC 64.075(f)  

d.	Employment and Transfer- 

-add specific time for processing office change applications,12 AAC 64.075(f)  


	e.	Requirements for Establishing and Maintaining an Office- 

-add verbiage for physical location-12 AAC 64.110(a) and (b). 
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