
How to File a Claim Against a Certificate of Cash Deposit or State Trust Account 

 
A suit may be brought against a contractor or home inspector’s certificate of cash deposit or state trust account for claims relating to: 
 

1. labor including employee benefits; 
 

2. taxes and contributions due to the state, city, and borough; 
 

3. material and equipment; 
 

4. claims for breach of contract; and 
 

5. repair of public facilities. 
 
File a complaint in district court (may be done in small claims court for amounts under $5,000) and send a copy of the complaint to 
the letterhead address. 
 

The complaint must specify: 
 

1. for which of the five items listed above the claim arose; 
 

2. when the claim arose; 
 

3. amount of claim; 
 

4. the account number for the certificate of cash deposit/state trust account;  
 

5. the business name of the contractor; and 
 

6. the contractor or home inspector’s license number. 
 

If the court enters a judgment against the certificate of cash deposit/state trust account, send a copy of the judgment to the letterhead 
address with a request that payment be made upon the judgment from the proceeds of the certificate of cash deposit/state trust 
account.  The judgment must contain the same items listed above as required in the complaint. 
 
Authority 12 AAC 21.130, 12 AAC 21.140, 12 AAC 22.060, 12 AAC 22.070, AS 08.18.071, AS 08.18.081 
If the division receives a complaint or judgment not filed in accordance with the above-referenced regulations and statutes, it will not 
be accepted as valid. 
 

There are statutes and regulations applicable to these types of claims.  Review AS 08.18.071 - .081, 12 AAC 21.130 - .140, and 12 AAC 
22.060 - .070.  It is your responsibility to research and be aware of the statutes and regulations applicable to your claim.  The citations 
above are not an exhaustive list and are not legal advice.  Failure to comply with applicable statutes and regulations may result in 
delayed payment or nonpayment of claims.  It is not necessary or appropriate to name the commissioner as a party to your action in 
asserting a claim against the certificate of cash deposit or state trust account.  If you need a complete license/certificate of cash 
deposit/trust account verification, submit your request to the letterhead address.  There is a $30.00 fee for this service. 
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Professional Licensing 

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Email: License@Alaska.Gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov 

 
 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
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