
Barbers, Non-Chemical Barbers, Hairdressers, and Estheticians Apprentice 
Enrollment Application Instructions 

The apprentice MAY NOT begin training until the application is approved by the board and the apprentice has received the student 
permit from this office. NO HOURS WILL BE CREDITED BEFORE BOARD APPROVAL. Emailed applications will not be accepted.  

The following must be received by the division before your application for Apprentice Enrollment can be reviewed:   

1. APPLICATION
A signed, completed application (#08-4194, pages 1-2).

2. FEES
Fees made payable to “State of Alaska” in accordance with 12 AAC 02.140.

Permit Fee (Estheticians):  $100.00 
Permit Fee (Barbers, Non-Chemical Barbers, and Hairdressers)  $125.00 
Re-Enrollment Fee (All Types)  $    5.00 

3. STATEMENT OF RESPONSIBILITY
A Statement of Responsibility form (#08-4194a) completed by the licensed instructor. The instructor must hold a current Alaska
instructor license.

4. CURRICULUM FORM
An appropriate curriculum form:

 #08-4194b for barbers (12 AAC 09.160)
 #08-4194c for hairdressers (12 AAC 09.160)
 #08-4194d for non-chemical barbers (12 AAC 09.161)
 #08-4194e for estheticians (12 AAC 09.163)

Apprentices, Shop Owners, and Instructors: 

Please be advised that in accordance with the statutes of postsecondary education (AS 14.48.030 and 12 AAC 17.015), a shop owner 
may not charge the apprentice a fee to receive training. If a shop owner charges the apprentice a fee for apprenticing, that shop owner 
may be acting as a school which requires authorization from postsecondary education.  

Shop owners may be required to pay apprentices an hourly wage. For information, contact the Wage and Hour section in the 
Department of Labor, in Juneau at (907) 465-4842; in Anchorage at (907) 269-4900; or in Fairbanks at (907) 451-2886.  

Barber and hairdresser apprentices must obtain a total of 2,000 hours of training under the apprenticeship program. At the completion 
of training, the apprentice must pass a proficiency test administered by the instructor in accordance with 12 AAC 09.050. The 
apprenticeship may not be completed in less than 12 months from the date of its commencement and must be completed in not more 
than two years from the date of its commencement.  

Non-chemical barber apprentices must obtain 1,600 hours of training under the apprenticeship program. At the completion of training, 
the apprentice must pass a proficiency test administered by the instructor in accordance with 12 AAC 09.050. The apprenticeship may 
not be completed in less than 12 months from the date of its commencement and must be completed in not more than two years 
from the date of its commencement.  

Esthetician (skin care only) apprentices must obtain a total of 350 hours of training under the apprenticeship program. At the 
completion of training, the apprentice must pass a proficiency test administered by the instructor in accordance with 12 AAC 09.050. 
The apprenticeship may not be completed in less than six months from the date of its commencement and must be completed in not 
more than one year from the date of its commencement.  

An instructor may not sponsor a student-instructor in an apprentice setting. A student-instructor may only receive training in a school. 
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Instructor: Upon Board approval of the apprenticeship the student permit will be sent to the student. It is your responsibility to 
complete the quarterly reporting forms in triplicate, keeping one copy for your own records, forwarding the original to this office no 
later than the 15th day after the calendar quarter, and providing one copy to the student. It is your responsibility to be sure that the 
hours are recorded correctly. The quarterly reporting forms are available online at:  
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers 

An instructor may sponsor no more than two apprentices. 

Time Clock: Instructors must provide a time clock in the shop to record the apprentice’s attendance. 

EXAMINATION INFORMATION: 
The written examination is scheduled through Prov.  Approved candidates will be notified by this office and Prov that they are ready 
to schedule their examination.  Exam fees will be paid directly to Prov.  Candidate bulletin can be found on the Board’s website at: 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers.   

NIC website: https://nictesting.org/   
Prov website: https://provexam.com/ 
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Barbers, Non-Chemical Barbers, Hairdressers and Estheticians 
Apprentice Enrollment Application 

PART I Application Type 

Enrolling As:  Barber Esthetician Hairdresser Non-Chemical Barber 

Enrollment Type: 
Initial Application Re-Enrollment with Previously Earned Number of Hours:* _____________ 

School Transfer From:** ____________________________________________________________ 

*A student who has interrupted schooling for a continuous period of at least two years will not be allowed credit hours of instruction received before
the date of interruption.
**Transfer students from a state other than Alaska must contact their school/training program/state board, to request official transcripts be 
submitted directly to this office by mail or email boardofbarbershairdressers@alaska.gov 

PART II Payment of Fees 

Required Fees: 
Permit Fee (Estheticians)   $100.00 
Permit Fee (Barbers, Non-Chemical Barbers, and Hairdressers)  $125.00 
Re-Enrollment or Transfer Fee  $    5.00 

PART III Personal Information 

Full Legal Name: 
Last       First       Middle 

Provide all other names used (maiden, nicknames, aliases).  If any documentation will be received in a prior name, you must 
provide a certified true copy of the documentation showing proof of legal name change(s). 

 Not Applicable 
 Other Names Used: 

Mailing Address: 
P.O. Box or Street      City    State     Zip 

Contact Phone: Date of Birth:  

EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business 
and Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I understand that failure to check my email account or 
to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure. 

Email Address:  Select One:  Send my Correspondence Electronically 

Send my Correspondence by Mail 

Note: If both boxes are selected above, you will receive correspondence electronically. 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  AS 08.01.060 requires you to provide your United 
States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and will  
not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. 
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PART IV Shop Information  
Name of Shop Where You 
Will Apprentice:  

Shop Mailing Address: 
P.O. Box or Street      City    State     Zip 

Shop Physical Address:  
  Street      City    State     Zip 

Shop Phone Number: 
Shop Owner License 
Number:  

Name of Instructor 
Providing Training: 

Instructor License 
Number:  

PART V 

A student who has interrupted schooling for a continuous period of two years or more will not be allowed credit for hours of 
instruction received prior to the date of interruption. 

Transfer students from a state other than Alaska must contact their school/training program/state board, to request official 
transcripts be submitted directly to this office by mail or email: boardofbarbershairdressers@alaska.gov 

Name of School or Shop Where Previously Trained Number of Hours 

PART VI Signature 

I certify that the above information is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. 

Applicant Printed 
Name:  

Applicant Signature: Date Signed: 
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Statement of Responsibility 
If the apprentice holds a current student permit for training which was received in another facility, the Board must still approve this 
apprenticeship before beginning the apprenticeship. 

Applicant:  Please complete the identifying information below and forward a copy of this form to the instructor
whom you will be receiving training from.  

Applicant Name:  

Area of Practice:  

Instructor:  Please complete this bottom part for the applicant identified above.

Instructor Name: 
Instructor 
License Number: 

Shop Business Name: 
(DBA) 

Shop Owner 
License Number: 

Shop Physical Address: 
  Street      City    State     Zip 

In accordance with 12 AAC 09.190(b), an instructor may sponsor no more than two apprentices.  Select one of the following: 

I currently supervise no apprentices.    

I currently supervise the following apprentices: 

Apprentice Name Student Permit Number 

I have practiced for at least three years at: 

Shop Name Address Dates of Employment 
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Signature 

I agree to assume the full responsibility of apprenticing the above-named apprentice in the practice of: 

Barber Esthetician Hairdresser Non-Chemical Barber 

This apprenticeship will be held in compliance with the statutes and regulations set forth by the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers. 
I have practiced for the last three years and am currently licensed as an instructor with the below license. 

By my signature below, I understand that the apprentice may not begin training, nor will hours be credited to the student, until the 
Board approves the apprenticeship application and a permit has been issued. I agree to abide by all statutes and regulations set 
forth by the Board. I also understand that as required by 12 AAC 09.190(h), I must be physically present in the shop whenever my 
apprentice is performing work in the shop. I certify that the information provided is true and correct. 

Instructor Printed 
Name:  

License Number: 

Instructor 
Signature:  

Date Signed: 
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Barber Curriculum 
An individual receiving apprenticeship instruction for barbering must receive the minimum hours of theory and minimum number of 
practical operations as specified in 12 AAC 09.160. The minimum hours of instruction required by AS 08.13.082(a) for individuals 
receiving training in the field of barbering under the apprenticeship program is 2,000 hours of instruction (as opposed to the 1,650 
hours required in a school). The curriculum listed below is the minimum hours of theory and minimum number of practical operations 
for barbering, keeping in mind the student must receive 2,000 hours of instruction for apprenticeship training. 

12 AAC 09.160. BARBER SCHOOL CURRICULUM. (a) A student who is enrolled in a course of barbering or hairdressing must complete 
a curriculum that consists of at least 1,650 hours of theoretical and practical training. A school shall teach a minimum of 185 hours 
of theoretical instruction, including five hours in state law, and the following minimum number of practical operations, during the 
1,650 hours of training. 

PART I Barber Training Information 

Subject 
Minimum Number of Practical 

Operations for Hairdresser Curriculum 

Wet hair styling and drying, including hair analysis, shampooing, finger waving, pin 
curling, and comb outs. 

30 

Thermal hair styling and drying, including hair analysis, straightening, waving, curling 
with hot combs and hot curling irons, and blower styling. 

180 

Permanent waving, including hair analysis and chemical waving. 50 

Chemical straightening including hair analysis and the use of sodium hydroxide and other 
base solutions. At least one-half of the practical operations required must be operations 
in which the student has direct hands-on involvement. No more than one-half of the 
practical operations may be observations during group demonstrations. 

10 

Haircutting, including hair analysis and the use of the razor, scissors, electric clippers, 
and thinning shears, for wet and dry cutting. 

400 

Haircoloring and bleaching, including hair analysis, predisposition test, safety 
precautions, formula mixing, tinting, bleaching, use of dye removers, but not including 
color rinses. 

75 

Scalp and hair treatments, including hair and scalp analysis, brushing, electric and manual 
scalp manipulation, and other hair treatments. 

10 

Beard trimming. 50 

Beard shaving. 50 
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A student is responsible for participating in the routine maintenance of the sanitary conditions necessary to conduct business. 
However, credit may not be given for time spent laundering towels, washing floors, walls, windows, or lavatories or similar work. In 
addition to meeting the above requirements, the curriculum required for a barber must include the manicuring curriculum set out in 
12 AAC 09.144. 

PART II Signature 
By my signature below I agree to follow the apprenticeship requirements in AS 08.13.082 and the barbering curriculum set out in 
12 AAC 09.160. If my student is a transfer student, I understand that the Division will send a breakdown in writing of the practical 
operations needed for my student to complete the training. 

Apprentice Name: 

Instructor 
Signature:  

Date Signed: 
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Hairdresser Curriculum 
An individual receiving apprenticeship instruction for hairdressing must receive the minimum hours of theory and minimum number 
of practical operations as specified in 12 AAC 09.160. The minimum hours of instruction required by AS 08.13.082(b) for individuals 
receiving training in the field of hairdressing under the apprenticeship program is 2,000 hours of instruction, (as opposed to the 1,650 
hours required in a school.) The curriculum listed below is the minimum hours of theory and minimum number of practical operations 
for hairdressing, keeping in mind the student must receive 2,000 hours of instruction for apprenticeship training. 

12 AAC 09.160. HAIRDRESSER SCHOOL CURRICULUM. A student who is enrolled in a course of barbering or hairdressing must 
complete a curriculum that consists of at least 1,650 hours of theoretical and practical training. A school shall teach a minimum of 
185 hours of theoretical instruction, including five hours in state law, and the following minimum number of practical operations, 
during the 1,650 hours of training. 

PART I Hairdresser Training Information 

Subject 
Minimum Number of Practical 

Operations for Hairdresser Curriculum 

Wet hair styling and drying, including hair analysis, shampooing, finger waving, pin 
curling and comb outs. 

180 

Thermal hair styling and drying, including hair analysis, straightening, waving, curling 
with hot combs and hot curling irons, and blower styling. 

180 

Permanent waving, including hair analysis and chemical waving. 80 

Chemical straightening including hair analysis and the use of sodium hydroxide and other 
base solutions. At least one-half of the practical operations required must be operations 
in which the student has direct hands-on involvement. No more than one-half of the 
practical operations may be observations during group demonstrations. 

10 

Haircutting, including hair analysis and the use of the razor, scissors, electric clippers, 
and thinning shears, for wet and dry cutting. 

250 

Haircoloring and bleaching, including hair analysis, predisposition test, safety 
precautions, formula mixing, tinting, bleaching, use of dye removers, but not including 
color rinses. 

75 

Scalp and hair treatments, including hair and scalp analysis, brushing, electric and manual 
scalp manipulation, and other hair treatments. 

10 

Beard trimming. 5 

Eyebrow arching and hair removal, including the use of wax, manual or electric tweezers 
and depilatories for the removal of superfluous hair. 

15 

Makeup, including skin analysis, complete and corrective makeup, and the application of 
false eyelashes 

15 

Manicure. 15 
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A student is responsible for participating in the routine maintenance of the sanitary conditions necessary to conduct business. 
However, credit may not be given for time spent laundering towels, washing floors, walls, windows, or lavatories or similar work. In 
addition to meeting the above requirements of this section, the curriculum required for a hairdresser must include the manicuring 
curriculum set out in 12 AAC 09.144. 

PART II Signature 
By my signature below I agree to follow the apprenticeship requirements in AS 08.13.082 and the hairdressing curriculum set out 
in 12 AAC 09.160. If my student is a transfer student, I understand that the Division will send a breakdown in writing of the 
practical operations needed for my student to complete the training. 

Apprentice Name: 

Instructor 
Signature:  Date Signed: 
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Non-Chemical Barber Curriculum 
An individual receiving apprenticeship instruction for non-chemical barbering must receive the minimum hours of theory and 
minimum number of practical operations as specified in 12 AAC 09.161. The minimum hours of instruction required by 
AS 08.13.082(a) for individuals receiving training in the field of non-chemical barbering under the apprenticeship program is 1,600 
hours of instruction (as opposed to the 1,350 hours required in a school). The curriculum listed below is the minimum hours of theory 
and minimum number of practical operations for non-chemical barbering, keeping in mind the student must receive 1,600 hours of 
instruction for apprenticeship training. 

12 AAC 09.161. NON-CHEMICAL BARBER SCHOOL CURRICULUM. (a) A student who is enrolled in a course of non-chemical barbering 
must complete a curriculum that consists of at least 1,600 hours of theoretical and practical training. A school shall teach a minimum 
of 185 hours of theoretical instruction, including five hours in state law, and the following minimum number of practical operations, 
during the 1,600 hours of training. 

PART I Non-Chemical Barber Training Information 

Subject 
Minimum Number of Practical 

Operations for Hairdresser Curriculum 

Wet hair styling and drying, including/ hair analysis, shampooing, finger waving, pin 
curling and comb outs. 

30 

Thermal hair styling and drying, including hair analysis, straightening, waving, curling 
with hot combs and hot curling irons, and blower styling. 

180 

Haircutting, including hair analysis and the use of the razor, scissors, electric clippers, 
and thinning shears, for wet and dry cutting. 

400 

Scalp and hair treatments, including hair and scalp analysis, brushing, electric and manual 
scalp manipulation, and other hair treatments. 

10 

Beard trimming. 50 

Beard shaving. 50 

A student is responsible for participating in the routine maintenance of the sanitary conditions necessary to conduct business. 
However, credit may not be given for time spent laundering towels, washing floors, walls, windows, or lavatories or similar work. 

PART II Signature 
By my signature below I agree to follow the apprenticeship requirements in AS 08.13.082 and the barbering curriculum set out in 
12 AAC 09.160. If my student is a transfer student, I understand that the Division will send a breakdown in writing of the practical 
operations needed for my student to complete the training. 

Apprentice Name: 

Instructor 
Signature:  

Date Signed: 
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Esthetician Curriculum 
An individual receiving apprenticeship instruction for esthetics must receive the minimum hours of theory and minimum number of 
practical operations as specified in 12 AAC 09.163. The minimum hours of instruction required by AS 08.13.082(c) for an individual 
receiving training in the field of esthetics in the apprenticeship program is 350 hours of training. The curriculum listed below is the 
minimum hours of theory and minimum number of practical operations for an esthetician. 

12 AAC 09.163. ESTHETICIAN SCHOOL CURRICULUM. A student who enrolls in a course of esthetics must complete a curriculum that 
consists of at least 350 hours of theoretical and practical training. A school shall teach a minimum of 40 hours of theoretical 
instruction, including five hours in state law and the following minimum number of practical operations during the 350 hours of 
training. 

PART I Esthetician Training Information 

Subject Minimum Number of Practical 
Operations for Esthetician Curriculum 

Manual, including skin analysis, cleansing, manipulations, packs and masks. 60 

Electrical, including the use of all electrical modalities and electrical apparatus, 
including dermal lights for facials and skin care purposes. 

40 

Eyebrow arching and hair removal, including the use of wax, manual or electrical 
tweezers and depilatories for the removal of superfluous hair. 

50 

Makeup, including skin analysis, complete and corrective makeup, and the application 
of false eyelashes. 

50 

PART II Signature 
By my signature below I agree to follow the apprenticeship requirements in AS 08.13.082 and the esthetics curriculum set out in 
12 AAC 09.163. If my student is a transfer student, I understand that the Division will send a breakdown in writing of the practical 
operations needed for my student to complete the training. 

Apprentice Name: 

Instructor 
Signature:  

Date Signed: 
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All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. Include this 
credit card payment form with your application.  

Name of Applicant or Licensee: _______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________  

Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture):   __________________________________________________________________ 

License Number (if applicable):    ___________________________________________________________________________

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):         AMOUNT  

Application Fee:  ______________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

License or Renewal Fee:      _________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

Other (fine, exam, etc.):  _________________________________________________________________________________   __________________________

1. _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________ 

2. _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

        TOTAL:                 ___________________________

Name (as shown on credit card):   _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Mailing Address:            _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Phone Number:   ________________________________________________________      Email (optional):               ____________________________________________________________

Signature of Credit Card Holder:          ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 08-4438                   Rev 12/06/2022                   Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted) 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
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Credit Card Payment Form 

CREDIT CARD INFO:  Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed! 

All 3 fields MUST be 
completed! 

This section will be 
destroyed after the 

payment is processed. 

1. Credit Card Number:

2. Expiration Date:

3. Security Code:
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