
Body Piercing, Tattooing, or Permanent Cosmetic Coloring Trainee Permit 
Application Instructions 
The Board of Barbers and Hairdressers will issue a student permit for the purposes of receiving training from a licensed practitioner 
of tattooing and permanent cosmetic coloring or body piercing.  Please read the instructions before completing the application.  
Faxed or emailed applications will not be accepted.  

The following must be received by the division in order for you to receive training: 

1. APPLICATION
A signed, completed application (#08-4401, pages 1-2).  Student must be 18 years of age when the training commences.

2. FEES
Fees made payable to “State of Alaska” in accordance with 12 AAC 02.140.
Permit Fee:   $100.00 
Re-Enrollment Fee:  $    5.00 

3. CERTIFICATE OF SANITARY STANDARD
Submit a copy of the Certificate of Sanitary Standard issued to the shop in which the training will take place.

4. VERIFICATION OF CPR AND BLOODBORNE PATHOGENS TRAINING
Verification of completion of a CPR course and a blood borne pathogens course (*see requirements listed below).

5. STATEMENT OF RESPONSIBILITY
A completed Statement of Responsibility form (#08-4401a) from the practitioner who is providing training.  Training must be
received in a licensed shop in this state under a person who has a practitioner’s license in this state in the field in which the trainee
seeks training.

6. TRAINING CURRICULUM
Complete the appropriate curriculum form (included in this packet) and return it with this application.

*Please note that you must have valid proof of completing a CPR course and a blood borne pathogens course before you can begin
your apprenticeship. When returning the application, you must also submit:

 A copy of a current CPR card; and
 A copy of a current blood borne pathogens card.

Upon receipt of a properly completed application, fees and required documentation, your application will be reviewed and if approved, 
a student permit will be issued. You may begin training upon receipt of the student permit. The training must be completed in not 
more than 12 months from the date of its commencement. 

Apprentices, Shop Owners, and Instructors: Please be advised that in accordance with the statutes of postsecondary education (AS 
14.48.030 and 12 AAC 17.015), a shop owner may not charge the apprentice a fee to receive training. If a shop owner charges the 
apprentice a fee for apprenticing, that shop owner may be acting as a school which requires authorization from postsecondary 
education. 
Shop owners may be required to pay apprentices an hourly wage. For information, contact the wage and hour section in the 
department of Labor, in Juneau at (907) 465-4842; in Anchorage at (907) 269-4900; or in Fairbanks at (907) 451-2886. 
After training has been completed, the trainer must provide proof of training on a form provided by the board. 

EXAMINATION INFORMATION: 
The written examination is scheduled through Prov.  Approved candidates will be notified by this office and Prov that they are ready 
to schedule their examination.  Exam fees will be paid directly to Prov.  Candidate bulletin can be found on the Board’s website at: 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers.   

NIC website: https://nictesting.org/   
Prov website: https://provexam.com/ 

08-4401 (Rev. 09/14/2023)   Application Instructions   Page 1 of 1 

               

Board of Barbers and Hairdressers 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 

Phone: (907) 465-2550 
Email: BoardOfBarbersHairdressers@Alaska.Gov 

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers 

THE STATE

ALASKA 
of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers
https://nictesting.org/
https://provexam.com/


Body Piercing, Tattooing, or Permanent Cosmetic Coloring 
Trainee Permit Application  

PART I Application Type 

Permit Type:  Body Piercing Tattooing  Permanent Cosmetic Coloring  

PART II Payment of Fees 

Required Fees: 
Trainee Permit Fee  $100.00 

Re-Enrollment or Transfer Fee $    5.00 

PART III Personal Information 

Full Legal Name: 
Last       First       Middle 

Provide all other names used (maiden, nicknames, aliases).  If any documentation will be received in a prior name, you must 
provide a certified true copy of the documentation showing proof of legal name change(s). 

 Not Applicable 

 Other Names Used: 

Mailing Address: 
P.O. Box or Street      City    State     Zip 

Contact Phone: Date of Birth:  

EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business 
and Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I understand that failure to check my email account or 
to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure. 

Email Address:  Select One:  
Send my Correspondence Electronically 

Send my Correspondence by Mail 

Note: If both boxes are selected above, you will receive correspondence electronically. 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  AS 08.01.060 requires you to provide your United 
States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and will  
not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. 
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PART IV Shop Information  
Name of Shop: 
(Where you want to apprentice) 

Name of Practitioner 
Providing Training: 

Practitioner License 
Number:  

Complete Shop Mailing 
Address:  

P.O. Box or Street       City       State        Zip  

Complete Shop Physical 
Address:  

  Street       City    State        Zip  

Shop Owner License Number: 
(NOT a business license number) Shop Phone Number: 

PART V Agreement 

By my signature below, I attest the information provided is true and correct and that I understand and agree that training must be 
received in accordance with 12 AAC 09, as appropriate. 

Trainee Signature:  Date Signed: 
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Statement of Responsibility  

Applicant:  Please complete the identifying information below and forward a copy of this form to the practitioner
who is providing training. 

Applicant Name:  

Area of Practice:  Body Piercing Tattooing Permanent Cosmetic Coloring 

Trainer: Please complete this bottom part for the applicant identified above. 

Shop Business Name 
(DBA) for Training: 

Shop Owner 
License Number: 

Shop Business License 
Number:* 

Phone Number: 

Complete Shop 
Physical Address: 

  Street      City    State     Zip 

Currently Licensed As:  Tattooist Permanent Cosmetic Colorist  Body Piercer 

Trainer Professional 
License Number: 

*Shop owners must hold current professional and business licenses.

In accordance with 12 AAC 09.185(b), a licensed practitioner may provide training to no more than two trainees simultaneously.  

I currently supervise no more than two trainees. 

I currently supervise the following trainees: 

Name of Trainee: 
Trainee Permit 
Number: 

Name of Trainee:  
Trainee Permit 
Number: 

I agree to assume full responsibility in training this trainee in this selected practice. This training will be held in compliance with the 
statutes and regulations set forth by the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers. 

I certify that the information provided is true and correct. 

Trainer Printed 
Name:  

Trainer Mailing 
Address: 

   P.O. Box or Street    City    State     Zip 

Trainer Signature: Date Signed: 
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Tattooing Training Curriculum 
12 AAC 09.169 requires a tattooing student to receive at least 1,000 hours of theoretical and practical training. The training must be 
completed within one year from the date of commencement and include: 

 A minimum of 270 hours of theory instruction.
 A minimum of 150 hours of practical operations broken out by:

a. 50 practical operations observed by the student;
b. 50 practical operations in which the student participated;
c. 50 practical operations performed by the student under supervision, but without assistance.

The 270 hours of theory must include the following: 

Subject 
Minimum Number of Theory Hours 

for Tattooing Curriculum 

Safety, sanitation, sterilization and aseptic. 100 

Anatomy and physiology. 30 

Skin and skin disorders. 10 

Aftercare techniques. 100 

Equipment and supplies. 20 

Alaska Statutes and Regulations. 10 

In addition to the training mentioned above, a student must receive training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and blood 
borne pathogens. (Students will not be scheduled for the state examination without proof of a current CPR card and blood borne 
pathogens course.) 

I acknowledge, by my signature below, that I will comply with the Tattooing Curriculum requirements referenced in 12 AAC 09.169. 

Trainer Printed 
Name:  

Trainer Signature:  Date Signed: 

Trainee Printed 
Name:  

Trainee Signature:  Date Signed: 
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Body Piercing Training Curriculum 
12 AAC 09.167 requires a body piercing student to receive at least 1,000 hours of theoretical and practical training. The training must 
be completed within one year from the date of commencement and include: 

 A minimum of 270 hours of theory instruction.
 A minimum of 150 hours of practical operations broken out by:

a. 50 practical operations observed by the student;
b. 50 practical operations in which the student participated;
c. 50 practical operations performed by the student under supervision, but without assistance.

The 270 hours of theory must include the following: 

Subject 
Minimum Number of Theory Hours 

for Body Piercing Curriculum 

Safety, sanitation, sterilization and aseptic. 100 

Anatomy and physiology. 30 

Skin and skin disorders. 10 

Aftercare techniques. 100 

Equipment and supplies. 20 

Alaska Statutes and Regulations. 10 

In addition to the training mentioned above, a student must receive training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and blood 
borne pathogens. (Students will not be scheduled for the state examination without proof of a current CPR card and blood borne 
pathogens course.) 

I acknowledge, by my signature below, that I will comply with the Body Piercing Curriculum requirements referenced in 12 AAC 
09.167. 

Trainer Printed 
Name:  

Trainer Signature:  Date Signed: 

Trainee Printed 
Name:  

Trainee Signature:  Date Signed: 
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Permanent Cosmetic Coloring Training Curriculum 
12 AAC 09.168 requires a permanent cosmetic coloring student to receive at least 250 hours of theoretical and practical training. The 
training must be completed within one year from the date of commencement and include: 

 A minimum of 125 hours of theory instruction.
 A minimum of 75 hours of practical operations broken out by:

a. 25 practical operations observed by the student including, eight lips, eight eyeliners, and eight eyebrows and may include 
microblading;

b. 25 practical operations in which the student participated including, eight lips, eight eyeliners, and eight eyebrows and
may include microblading;

c. 25 practical operations performed by the student under supervision, but without assistance including, eight lips, eight
eyeliners, and eight eyebrows and may include microblading.

The 125 hours of theory must include the following: 

Subject 
Minimum Number of Theory Hours for 

Permanent Cosmetic Coloring Curriculum 

Safety, sanitation, sterilization and aseptic. 45 

Anatomy and physiology. 10 

Skin and skin disorders. 10 

Aftercare techniques. 30 

Equipment and supplies. 10 

Alaska Statutes and Regulations. 10 

Emotional & psychological considerations of the client. 5 

Face shape and color theory. 5 

In addition to the training mentioned above, a student must receive training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and blood 
borne pathogens. (Students will not be scheduled for the state examination without proof of a current CPR card and blood borne 
pathogens course.) 

I acknowledge, by my signature below, that I will comply with the Permanent Cosmetic Coloring Curriculum requirements 
referenced in 12 AAC 09.168. 

Trainer Printed 
Name:  

Trainer Signature:  Date Signed: 

Trainee Printed 
Name:  

Trainee Signature:  Date Signed: 
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All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. Include this 
credit card payment form with your application.  

Name of Applicant or Licensee: _______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________  

Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture):   __________________________________________________________________ 

License Number (if applicable):    ___________________________________________________________________________

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):         AMOUNT  

Application Fee:  ______________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

License or Renewal Fee:      _________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

Other (fine, exam, etc.):  _________________________________________________________________________________   __________________________

1. _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________ 

2. _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

        TOTAL:                 ___________________________

Name (as shown on credit card):   _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Mailing Address:            _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Phone Number:   ________________________________________________________      Email (optional):               ____________________________________________________________

Signature of Credit Card Holder:          ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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Credit Card Payment Form 

CREDIT CARD INFO:  Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed! 

All 3 fields MUST be 
completed! 

This section will be 
destroyed after the 

payment is processed. 

1. Credit Card Number:

2. Expiration Date:

3. Security Code:
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