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Bring suit upon the bond in district court by: 

 

1. Filing a summons and complaint in the district court (may be done in small claims court for amounts less 
than $10,000); 

 

2. List the contractor’s entire business name, bonding company name, and bond number as defendants. 
State the dates and causes of action in the complaint.   

 

3. At the time the suit is filed, send a copy of the complaint by registered or certified mail to the Division 
of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing: 

 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing  
PO Box 110806 
Juneau, AK  99811-0805 
(907) 465-2550 

 
 

4. Send two copies of all court documents and $25.00 to the Division of Insurance to complete 
service on the surety that issued the bond: 

 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Insurance 
PO Box 110805 
Juneau, AK  99811-0805 
(907) 465-2515 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
  

 

 
 

               

 
Contractor Licensing Section 

State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 

Phone: (907) 465-2550  •  Fax: (907) 465-2974 
Email: ConstructionContractors@Alaska.Gov 

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/ConstructionContractors 
 

 

How to File a Claim Against A Contractor and their Surety Bond 
 

A suit may be brought against a contractor’s bond for claims relating to: 
 

(1)   Labor, including employee benefits; 
 

(2)   Taxes and contributions due the state, city, and borough, in that order; 
 

(3)   Material and equipment; 
 

(4)   Claims for breach of contract; 
 

(5)   Repair of public facilities. 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
 

  

  

  

  

There are statutes and regulations applicable to these types of claims. Please review AS 08.18.071 – 08.18.081 and 
12 AAC 21.130 - .140. It is your responsibility to research and be aware of the statutes and regulations applicable to 
your claim. The citations above are not an exhaustive list and are not legal advice.  Failure to comply with applicable 
statutes and regulations may result in delayed payment or nonpayment of claims. Note that under 12 AAC 
21.130(d), it is not necessary or appropriate to name the commissioner as a party to your action in asserting a claim 
against the surety bond. If you need a complete license/bond verification, please submit your request in writing to 
this department. There is a $30.00 fee for this service.  (Authority AS 08.18.081 and 12AAC 02.180) 
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