ASKA Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Social Work Examiners PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers

Master Social Worker License by Examination Application Instructions

A person may apply for a license to practice master social work in the State of Alaska by examination. These instructions also describe the procedures for obtaining a temporary license while waiting for permanent licensure.

The following must be received by the division before your application for Master Social Worker License by Examination can be reviewed:

1. APPLICATION

A signed, completed application (#08-4874, pages 1-4).

THE STATE

2. FEES

Fees made payable to "State of Alaska."	
Nonrefundable Application Fee:	\$100.00
Initial License Fee:	\$275.00
Total Fees Due:	\$375.00

3. AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF RECORDS

A completed Authorization for Release of Records form (#08-4874a).

4. CERTIFIED TRANSCRIPTS

Certified transcripts of a master's degree or a doctoral degree in social work sent directly to the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing from a college or university approved by the Board.

5. PROFESSIONAL REFERENCES

Three professional references (form #08-4874c) from the following, as appropriate:

- a. a reference from a current employer supervisor where employed to practice social work;
- b. a reference from a previous employer supervisor where employed to practice social work, and -
- c. a reference from any one of the following professionals:
 - Master's or doctorate degree social worker;
 - Licensed psychological associate, clinical psychologist, or physician specializing in psychiatry;
 - Licensed medical or osteopathic physician;
 - Licensed advanced nurse practitioner with a specialty area of practice in mental health;
 - Licensed registered nurse with a master's degree in psychiatric nursing;
 - Licensed marriage and family therapist; or
 - Licensed professional counselor.

Note: If you do not have a current/previous supervisor, please provide a letter of explanation regarding any missing reference.

6. VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE

Verification of Licensure must be sent directly to the department from each jurisdiction where the applicant holds or has ever held a license to practice social work. Each verification must include an explanation of any disciplinary action taken against the licensee. Check with each of the state boards you are or have been licensed in for their verification request process. If a state offers primary source verification on their website, that can be accepted as long as the website clearly confirms that it's a primary source verification.

EXAMINATION INFORMATION

The Alaska Board of Social Work Examiners offers the examination through the Association of Social Work Boards. Upon approval to sit for the examination at the master's level, applicants will be instructed to register with the Association of Social Work Boards, at *www.aswb.org.* A separate examination fee will be required by the Association of Social Work Boards.

Temporary License

The Board may issue a temporary license to practice master social work to an applicant who meets the criteria set out in AS 08.95.125. The temporary license allows an applicant to practice while waiting to sit for the examination.

Note: You must apply for a license by examination in order to request a temporary license.

The following must be received by the division before your application for Temporary License can be reviewed:

1. APPLICATION

A signed, completed application (#08-4874, pages 1-4), attesting:

- a. that you hold a master's social work degree; and
- b. that you are of good moral character.

2. FEES

Fees made payable to "State of Alaska."	,
Nonrefundable Application Fee:	\$100.00
Temporary License Fee:	\$ 75.00
Total Fees Due:	\$175.00

3. TRANSCRIPTS

Submit certified official transcripts of a master's degree or a doctoral degree in social work.

The temporary license is valid for one year only and <u>may not be renewed</u>. Additionally, only one temporary license may be issued to an individual in accordance with AS 08.95.125(d). If the board rejects your application for permanent licensure, the temporary license becomes invalid on the date of board action rejecting the license application.

An incomplete application or any unusual circumstances noted in the application may require additional processing time. While we understand your desire to conclude this process as quickly as possible, our licensing staff is responsible for reviewing many files and cannot complete the application process if required documents are missing. It is your responsibility to ensure required documents are submitted to our office.

The application review process is defined by the requirements set forth in state law. The Division must comply with those laws in processing applications. The Division conducts a thorough evaluation of education, training, employment or work history, malpractice history and any criminal or disciplinary history. We recommend you do not make commitments for loans, practice start dates, home purchases, etc., based on the expectation of licensure. The Division will not accelerate one application over another, nor will it forego any elements of its screening process.

General Information

APPLICATION PROCESSING:

The average time to process a paper application varies by program but can take several weeks from the date it is received in this office complete with all correct forms, supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.

LICENSE TERM:

There is no "inactive" status. If you choose not to renew your license, it will lapse. Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on June 30 of even-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued to the next biennial expiration date. Renewal applications become available 30-90 days prior to the expiration date. One renewal notice will be sent via email or mail at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known email or mailing address of record. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not alleviate the requirement to renew the license if you wish to continue providing services in Alaska.

PROFESSIONAL FITNESS QUESTIONS:

A "yes" response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded "yes" to any professional fitness questions in the application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and the charging document and judgement.

DENIAL OF APPLICATION:

Please be aware that the denial of an application of licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, state, or local governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law.

RANDOM AUDIT:

If your program requires continuing education, the Division will audit a percentage of the license renewals. If your license is randomly selected for audit, a letter will be sent with instructions to submit documentation as proof you satisfied the continuing competency requirements as stated on this renewal form. Licensees are randomly selected by computer and may be randomly selected as often as the computer program chooses. You must save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to audits.

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of changes of address or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the Division's website. The address of record with the division will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name.

CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES:

If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license and/or court documents that are notarized as a "certified true copy of the original document". To obtain a certified true copy, you must present the notary with the original document along with the photocopy. You must write, "I certify this is a true copy of the original document" and sign your name. The notary will compare the original document with the copy and then notarize your signature.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:

AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is issued or renewed for an individual. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement form (#08-4372) located at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov* or contact the division for a copy of the form. This form is required with every application if you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number.

PUBLIC INFORMATION:

Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available as a public record, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:

Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited.

BUSINESS LICENSES:

The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed separately. For more information about business licenses, (907) 465-2550 or *BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov*

STALE DOCUMENTS:

Application forms, authorizations and verifications older than 12 months from the date the document was received by the division will be considered stale; the document must be resubmitted as appropriate before the application will be considered by the division or a licensing board. Application documents include the application documents and verifications of licensure from other licensing jurisdictions. (12 AAC 02.915)

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:

If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division's website: *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov*

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the specific program you want to be updated on to the address below.

Regulations Specialist Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing EMAIL: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov





Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Social Work Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Website: *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers*

Master Social Worker License by Examination Application

PART I T	emporary License		
Temporary Licens	. In addition to applying for Licensure by E	xamination, I would like to request a	Temporary License.
PART II P	ayment of Fees		
	Nonrefundable Application Fee		\$100.00
Required Fees:	Initial License Fee		\$275.00
	Temporary License Fee		\$ 75.00
PART III P	ersonal Information		
Full Legal Name:			
	ames used (maiden, nicknames, aliases). If any do true copy of the documentation showing proof of lo	-	or name, you must
🔲 Not App	icable		
Other Na	mes Used:		
Mailing Address:	P.O. Box or Street City	State	Zip
Contact Phone:		Date of Birth:	
and Professional Licens	choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my ng, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the M is in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial info	Y LICENSE web page. I understand that failure	to check my email account or
Email Address:		Select One:	prrespondence Electronically prrespondence by Mail
	Note: If both boxes are selected above, you will	receive correspondence electronically.	
States Social Security N	BER: AS 08.01.060 requires you to provide your United imber. It is considered confidential information and will I; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure.		

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

PART IV Education

List the name & address of the Master's Social Work program attended and ANY other education programs attended.

Name of College	Address	Degree Awarded	Date Awarded

PART V Professional License(s)

List every state, U.S. jurisdiction, or country where you currently hold, or have ever held, a license to practice social work. If you need additional pages, please attach.

Check here if none.

П

PART VI

 \Box

Alaska Law

I hereby certify I have reviewed, understand and will abide by the statutes and regulations applicable to my profession (AS 08.95 and 12 AAC 18).

The following questions must be answered. "Yes" answers may not automatically result in license denial.

For each "yes" response to any question, you must provide an explanation and documentation. Use the letter of explanation form (#08-4752) appended to this application; include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. A separate letter of explanation form must be provided for each "yes" answer documented below. Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board, or license actions, etc.

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

When in doubt, disclose and explain.

1.	Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted, conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed on probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority in connection with a professional license you have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and including that of any military authorities or is any such action pending?	Yes		No
2.	Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime? For purposes of this question, 'crime' includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a military offense, including, but not limited to, driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license. 'Convicted' includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition of sentence, or a fine.	Yes		No
3.	Have you been the subject of an investigation by any licensing jurisdiction or are you currently under investigation by any licensing jurisdiction or is any such action pending?	Yes		No
4.	Are you currently suffering from any condition, mental or physical, that impairs your judgement or that would otherwise adversely affect your ability to practice social work in a competent, ethical and professional manner?	Yes		No
5.	Do you use drugs or alcohol in any manner that impairs your ability to practice social work competently and safely?	Yes		No
\bigcap	"Yes" Answers		-	

tement from your health care provider indicating your ability to safely practice Social Work. Applications submitted without the appropriate attachments will be considered incomplete and will not be processed.





Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Social Work Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Website: *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers*

Signature Page

Applicant Name:		
Alaska License Number (if known):		Application in Process

PART VIII Agreement

I hereby certify that I am the person herein named and subscribing to this application and that I have read the complete application, and I know the full content thereof. I declare that all of the information contained herein, and evidence or other documents submitted herewith are true and correct.

I understand that any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment hereto, or falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, revoking, or otherwise disciplining a license, certificate, or permit to practice in the state of Alaska.

I further understand that it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime of unsworn falsification.

Applicant Signature:

Date Signed:

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY



LASKA Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Social Work Examiners PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers

Authorization for Release of Records

I hereby authorize the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing and its investigators to examine my employment, educational records, and records pertaining to litigation, judgments, suits and/or settlements, and any law enforcement records pertaining to me and discuss them with persons having possession of them. I also expressly permit and authorize the release of any and all such records pertaining to me to the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing and its investigators.

I authorize the division to discuss these records with persons or organizations that are considered appropriate by the division in connection with an official investigation, and to provide copies of these records to those persons or organizations deemed appropriate by the division.

I request that upon presentation of this release, or a Certified True Copy thereof, that you provide copies of those records to the division and/or its investigators, and/or representatives of the Office of the Attorney General of the State of Alaska.

This authorization is given expressly in connection with the application (initial, renewal, reactivation) for issuance of a master social worker license.

I hereby release you, your organization, the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing and its investigators, and all others directly and/or indirectly involved in this matter from any liability or damage which may result from furnishing the information requested.

This authorization expires one (1) year from the date of my signature below.

Name:	First	Middle		Last
Full Address:	P.O. Box or Street	City	State	Zip
Phone:			Date of Birth:	
Email:				
Signature:			Date:	



LASKA Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Social Work Examiners PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers

Professional Reference

Three professional references are required:

(1) A current employer supervisor where employed to practice social work; (2) A previous employer supervisor where employed to practice social work; and (3) A reference from one of the following professionals:

- (a) Master's or doctorate degree social worker;
- (b) Licensed psychological associate, clinical psychologist, or physician specializing in psychiatry;
- (c) Licensed medical or osteopathic physician;
- (d) Licensed advanced nurse practitioner with a specialty area of practice in mental health;
- (e) Licensed registered nurse with a master's degree in psychiatric nursing;
- (f) Licensed marital and family therapist; **OR**
- (g) Licensed professional counselor.

Applicant: Please complete the identifying information below and forward a copy of this form to the appropriate individuals. *Make additional copies of this form, as needed.*

Applicant Name:				
Mailing Address:	P.O. Box or Street	City	State	Zip
Applicant Signature:			Date Signed:	

Reference: Please provide the information requested below for the applicant identified in this form and send document directly to the Alaska Board of Social Work Examiners at the letterhead address.

Reference Name:			Relationship to Applicant:		
License Number:			License Type:		
Name of Institution or Clinic where Employed:					
Address:	P.O. Box or Street	City		State	Zip
Email Address:		Phor	e Number:		
Associated with Applicant from Date:	mm/dd/yyyy		ciated with icant to Date:	mm/dd/yyyy	
Reference Type: (Check all that apply)	 Current employer supervisor Master's degree social worker Licensed psychological associate Licensed physician specializing in Psy Licensed medical physician Licensed professional counselor Licensed advanced nurse practitione Licensed registered nurse with a material 	r with	y Docto Licens Licens Licens Licens	-	herapist

Recommendation

The board believes a license to practice social work at the clinical level carries important responsibilities. Please comment on the applicant's qualifications, abilities, character, etc., which involves use of social work principles and methods, as defined in AS 08.95.990(7), and which include counseling of a nonmedical nature to assist in the treatment of mental and emotional conditions of individuals, families, and groups; providing information and referral services; providing or arranging for the provision of social services; explaining and interpreting the psychosocial aspects in the situations of individuals, families, or groups; helping communities to organize, provide, or improve social and health services; and doing research related to social work.

AS 08.95.990(2) defines "clinical social work" as the diagnosis of psychiatric disorders and the use of techniques of applied psychotherapy of a nonmedical nature while practicing social work.

Comments:			

To your knowledge:

1. is the applicant of good moral character?	Yes No
2. has the applicant ever been found guilty of incompetence by another state or jurisdiction?	🔲 Yes 🔲 No
3. has the applicant violated the ethical standards of another state agency or jurisdiction for providers of social work services?	Yes No
4. has the applicant misrepresented his or her qualifications to the board in any way?	Yes No
5. has the applicant been sanctioned for practicing social work services without a license?	Yes No
6. Would you recommend the applicant for licensure as a master social worker?	Yes No
Please Explain:	
7. Any further comments the board might consider in reviewing this applicant?	Yes No
Please Explain:	
8. Please evaluate the applicant's technical knowledge and practical experience:	
Excellent Very Good Fair Needs	s Improvement
Signature	

I hereby certify that the above information is true and complete to the best of my knowledge.				
Reference Printed Name:				
Reference Signature:		Date Signed:		

THE STATE



ASKA Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Professional Licensing PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: License@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov

Letter of Explanation for a Professional Fitness "Yes" Answer

Use this form only to explain and document any professional fitness "yes" answers. A "yes" answer is not necessarily disqualifying but concealing one may be.

Each "yes" answer requires a separate explanation and associated documentation. Submit all relevant documentation with this form, even if you have previously provided it.

- **Explanations** include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. If the space provided is insufficient, make additional copies as needed.
- Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board or license actions, decisions against your
 professional certification, satisfaction of consent agreements (fines paid, community service completed, off probation, etc.),
 and fitness to practice letters (statement from your provider that you are safe to practice if you check "yes" to any of the
 questions regarding mental or physical health, or drug or alcohol abuse or addiction).
- **Disciplinary actions** may include, but not be limited to, suspension, surrender, revocation, probation, academic probation, reprimand, censure, restricted license, limited license, conditioned license, or letters of counseling, concern, advice, warning, caution, admonishment, or reprimand.

If you have multiple "yes" answers or multiple incidents for any professional fitness question, you must use a separate copy of this form and provide a full explanation and documentation for each incident.

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

Write the professional fitness question number you are answering "yes" to in the box.						
Location of Incident:					Date of Incider	ıt:
Explanation of Incident: When in doubt, disclose and explain. Make copies as necessary.						
Did you attach	all applicable of	documents associated with	this in	cident?		
Court Ord	Court Orders Consent Agreements Disciplinary Actions Charging Documents					g Documents
Court Rec	Court Records Fitness to Practice All Other Documentation Related to This Incident					
I have additional incidents for this "yes" answer, or "yes" answers to other Professional Fitness questions and have attached a separate copy of this form for each incident.						
Full Name:					Program:	
Signature:					Date Signed:	





Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

State of Alaska PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Credit Card Payment Form

All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, <u>do not email</u> credit card information. Include this credit card payment form with your application.

Name of Applic	cant or Licensee:					
Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture):			License Number (if applic		cable):	
I wish to make payment by credit card		for the following (check all that apply):		AMOUNT		
Application Fee:						
License or Renewal Fee:						
Other (fine, exam, etc.):						
1.						
2.						
				TOTAL:		
Name (as shown on credit card):						

Name (as shown on credit card):		
Mailing Address:		
Phone Number:	Email (Optional):	
Signature of Credit Card Holder:		

08-4438 (Rev. 05/01/2024)

Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted)

Page 1 of 1

CREDIT CARD INFO: Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed. 1. Credit Card Number: All 3 fields MUST be completed. 2. Expiration Date: All 3 fields MUST be completed. 3. Security Code: This section will be destroyed after the payment is processed.

ADM FOR DIVISION USE ONLY