THE STATE
of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Board of Dental Examiners
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811
Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfDentalExaminers@Alaska.Gov
Website: Professionallicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfDentalExaminers

Dental Assistant Restorative Function Endorsement Application Instructions

No dental assistant may perform restorative function without certification from the board. A restorative function certification is
renewed biennial in the State of Alaska.

It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that all information requested in this application is received. Each question must be
answered fully, truthfully, and accurately. Any omissions or inaccuracies are grounds for disapproval and rejection. AS 08.36.315 of
the Dental Practice Act provides that knowingly cooperating in deceit, fraud, or intentional misrepresentation to obtain a license is
cause for suspension, revocation, or annulment of licensure. If the space for any answer is insufficient, the applicant may complete
his/her answer on another sheet signed by him/her and specifying the number of the question to which it relates.

Applications and payments must be submitted via mail or fax; they cannot be accepted by email for security reasons. Supporting
documents can be accepted by email, mail, or fax.

AS 08.36.344. Restorative function certificate.

(a) The board shall issue a restorative function certificate to a dental assistant if the dental assistant furnishes evidence satisfactory to

the board that the dental assistant has
(1) successfully completed a course offered by or under the auspices of a program accredited by the Commission on Dental
Accreditation of the American Dental Association or other equivalent course or program approved by the board; and
(2) passed the Western Regional Examining Board's restorative examination or other equivalent examination approved by
the board within the five years preceding the dental assistant's certificate application, or the dental assistant has legal
authorization from another state or jurisdiction to perform restorative functions.

(b) A certificate issued under this section authorizes a dental assistant under the direct supervision of a licensed

dentist to place restorations into a cavity prepared by the licensed dentist and thereafter carve, contour, and adjust

contacts and occlusion of the restoration.

(c) The board may by regulation establish fees, renewal, and continuing education requirements for a certificate under this section.

12 AAC 28.850. RESTORATIVE FUNCTIONS BY DENTAL ASSISTANTS.
(a) The board will issue a certificate to perform restorative functions to a dental assistant in this state who meets the requirements
of AS 08.36.344 and this section.
(b) An applicant for certification under this section must submit to the department
(1) a complete, notarized application on a form provided by the department;
(2) the following fees:
(A) $60 nonrefundable application fee;
(B) $60 certification fee;
(3) verification that the applicant has successfully completed either
(A) a restorative function program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental
Association; or
(B) another course of instruction approved by the board under 12 AAC 28.860; and
(4) verification that the applicant either
(A) has legal authorization from another state or jurisdiction to perform restorative functions; or
(B) within the five years immediately before the date of application for a certificate under this section, the
applicant has passed either the restorative function examination of the Western Regional Examining Board or a
restorative function examination approved by the board as equivalent to the restorative function examination of
the Western Regional Examining Board.

12 AAC 28.860. APPROVAL OF RESTORATIVE FUNCTION COURSES FOR DENTAL ASSISTANTS.
The board may, upon its own motion or upon request of any interested person, approve a course of instruction upon
receipt of an application that includes

(1) the name of the course sponsor;

(2) the name and credentials of the course presenter; and

(3) a course outline showing that the course content meets the requirements of 12 AAC 28.870.
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12 AAC 28.870. REQUIREMENTS FOR RESTORATIVE FUNCTION COURSES FOR DENTAL ASSISTANTS.
(a) A course of instruction for restorative functions for dental assistants must include
(1) the physical, chemical, and biological properties of dental materials, including amalgam and composite materials;
(2) the limitations and acceptability of a dental material based on the physical, chemical, and biological properties of the
material;
(3) proper safety when using dental materials, including appropriate infection control and mercury hygiene;
(4) dental anatomy and occlusion;
(5) isolation procedures;
(6) proper placement and finishing of restorative materials;
(7) assessment outcomes that measure the stated goals and objectives;
(8) classroom hours sufficient to meet the restorative course requirements of this section;
(9) laboratory experience to be able to place and finish all classes of restorations; and
(10) a required clinical proficiency to establish a demonstrated ability to place and finish all classes of restorations.

RESTORATIVE FUNCTION ENDORSEMENT BASED ON TRAINING

A dental assistant desiring restorative function certification shall apply to the board after registering for and/or successfully passing
the restorative examination given by the Western Regional Examining Board (WREB).

For information regarding the WREB examination, please contact:

Western Regional Examining Board
Phone: 301.563.3300
Fax: 301.563.3307
E-mail Address: generalinfo@wreb.org
Website: https://adextesting.org/

The following must be received by the division before your application for Restorative Function Endorsement Based on
Training can be reviewed:

1. APPLICATION
A completed, signed, and notarized application (#08-4577).

2. FEES
Fees made payable to “State of Alaska.”
Nonrefundable Application Fee: S 60.00
Endorsement Fee: S 60.00
Total Fees Due: $120.00

3. COURSE VERIFICATION
A completed Course Verification form (#08-4577a), with university or college seal.

4. WESTERN REGIONAL EXAMINING BOARD (WREB) CERTIFICATE
A copy of the certificate from the Western Regional Examining Board (WREB) showing successful completion of the restorative
portion of the examination.

RESTORATIVE FUNCTION ENDORSEMENT BASED ON CERTIFICATION IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION

The following must be received by the division before your application for Restorative Function Endorsement Based on
Certification In Another Jurisdiction can be reviewed:

1. APPLICATION
A completed, signed, and notarized application (#08-4577).

2. FEES
Fees made payable to “State of Alaska.”
Nonrefundable Application Fee: S 60.00
Endorsement Fee: S 60.00
Total Fees Due: $120.00
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3. COURSE VERIFICATION
A completed Course Verification form (#08-4577a), with university or college seal.

4. VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE
Verification of licensure (#08-4577b), sent directly from a jurisdiction where you hold a license/certificate to perform restorative
functions. The license/certificate must be current and in good standing.

Applications are processed as quickly as possible. Telephone calls or emails to our office asking for status updates or if documents
were received will delay processing. If you are concerned about your application being received in our office, mail it “Certified — Return
Receipt Requested.” You will receive a delivery notice from the post office. Please only email or call the office asking for a status
update if you haven't heard from the office more than six (6) weeks after your application has been received.

Because of privacy issues, telephone calls regarding the status of application will be restricted to the applicant only unless the
applicant submits authorization in writing for details of their application file to be shared with a named third party.
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General Information ‘

APPLICATION PROCESSING:

The average time to process a paper application varies by program but can take several weeks from the date it is received in this office
complete with all correct forms, supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. When the application is complete and correct, and
all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid, the license will be issued. Start the process far enough in
advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not
expect immediate review.

PROFESSIONAL FITNESS QUESTIONS:
A “yes” response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded “yes” to any professional
fitness questions in the application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and the charging document and judgement.

DENIAL OF APPLICATION:
Please be aware that the denial of an application of licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal,
state, or local governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law.

RANDOM AUDIT:

If your program requires continuing education, the Division will audit a percentage of the license renewals. If your license is randomly
selected for audit, a letter will be sent with instructions to submit documentation as proof you satisfied the continuing competency
requirements as stated on this renewal form. Licensees are randomly selected by computer and may be randomly selected as often
as the computer program chooses. You must save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to audits.

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of changes of address
or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the Division’s website. The address of record with the division
will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be your
current legal name.

CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES:

If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license and/or
court documents that are notarized as a “certified true copy of the original document”. To obtain a certified true copy, you must
present the notary with the original document along with the photocopy. You must write, “I certify this is a true copy of the original
document” and sign your name. The notary will compare the original document with the copy and then notarize your signature.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:

AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is
issued or renewed for an individual. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for Exemption
from Social Security Number Requirement form (#08-4372) located at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov or contact the division for a
copy of the form. This form is required with every application if you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number.

PUBLIC INFORMATION:

Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by
state or federal law. Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the division’s website at
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov under License Search.

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:

Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received
from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division
will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial
license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no
refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited.

BUSINESS LICENSES:
The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for business
licenses are mailed separately. For more information about business licenses, (907) 465-2550 or BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov

STALE DOCUMENTS:

Application forms, authorizations and verifications older than 12 months from the date the document was received by the division
will be considered stale; the document must be resubmitted as appropriate before the application will be considered by the division
or a licensing board. Application documents include the application documents and verifications of licensure from other licensing
jurisdictions. (12 AAC 02.915)
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PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a
nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues.

PRESCRIPTION DRUG MONITORING PROGRAM:
All actively licensed practitioners with a DEA registration number valid to use in any state or practice location must register with the
Alaska Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) within 30 days of initial licensure and use the PDMP to review a patient’s
prescription history each time before prescribing, administering, or dispensing a federally scheduled Il or Ill controlled substance. For
more information, please visit PDMP.Alaska.Gov

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:
The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division’s website:
ProfessionallLicense.Alaska.Gov

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your
name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the specific program you want to be updated on to the address below.

Regulations Specialist
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
EMAIL: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov
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THE STATE

"ALASKA

Board of Dental Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfDentalExaminers@Alaska.Gov

=) »% Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Website: Professionallicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfDentalExaminers

DEN

Dental Assistant Restorative Function Endorsement Application

Payment of Fees

[J Nonrefundable Application Fee

Required Fees:
|:| Endorsement Fee

$60.00
$60.00

V4NN Personal Information

Full Legal Name:

[ Not Applicable
[0 other Names Used:

Provide all other names used (maiden, nicknames, aliases). If any documentation will be received in a prior name, you must
provide a certified true copy of the documentation showing proof of legal name change(s).

Mailing Address:

Contact Phone:

Date of Birth:

EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business
and Professional Licensing, | agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. | understand that failure to check my email account or
to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure.

Email Address:

Select One:

D Send my Correspondence Electronically

D Send my Correspondence by Mail

Note: If both boxes are selected above, you will receive correspondence electronically.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: AS 08.01.060 requires you to provide your United
States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and will
not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure.

08-4577 (Rev. 04/04/2023) Dental Assistant Restorative Function Endorsement - Application Page 1 0of4


ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfDentalExaminers

.V:30I|I Restorative Function Training Information

Name of College or
University:

Location:
(City, State)

Dates Attended:

Degree:

. :4N\"A Professional History

Number of Years Devoted to the
Clinical Practice of Dental Assisting?

AK Dental Assistant License
Number:

Original Issue Date

List all other states where you are currently licensed or certified to perform restorative functions.

State or Jurisdiction License Number Issue Date
MUY RYAN Examination Information
Restorative Function WREB
Examination Location:
WREB Exam Date:
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AUYR/I Required Supporting Documents

I understand that the following must be on file before my application for a dental assistant restorative function endorsement will
be considered complete:

If Applying by Examination:
D A complete, signed, and notarized application as required by 12 AAC 28.850(b)(1).

The $120 in fees as required by 12 AAC 28.810(b)(2).

D A complete and signed course verification form (#08-4577a) either submitted directly to the State of Alaska or including
the university, college, or sponsor seal as required by 12 AAC 28.850(b)(3).

A course description and/or outline confirming the coronal polishing course included instruction on the following, as
required by 12 AAC 28.850(b)(3):

- Characteristics of abrasives used for polishing;
- Aerosol production during polishing;

- Effects of heat production during polishing;

- Removal of tooth structure by polishing;

- Indications and contraindications of polishing;
- Selective polishing techniques;

- Coronal polishing by removing soft plague and stain from exposed enamel utilizing appropriate rotary instrument
and suitable polishing agent; and

- Properinfection control techniques while performing rotary coronal polishing.
-and -

D Copies of scores received within the five years immediately preceding the date of your application showing passage of the
WREB restorative function examination.

If Applying by Certification in Another State:

D A complete, signed, and notarized application as required by 12 AAC 28.850(b)(1).

The $120 in fees as required by 12 AAC 28.810(b)(2).

D A complete and signed course verification form (#08-4577a) either submitted directly to the State of Alaska or including
the university, college, or sponsor seal as required by 12 AAC 28.850(b)(3).

A course description and/or outline confirming the coronal polishing course included instruction on the following, as
required by 12 AAC 28.830:

- Characteristics of abrasives used for polishing;
- Aerosol production during polishing;

- Effects of heat production during polishing;

- Removal of tooth structure by polishing;

- Indications and contraindications of polishing;
- Selective polishing techniques;

- Coronal polishing by removing soft plague and stain from exposed enamel utilizing appropriate rotary instrument
and suitable polishing agent; and,

- Proper infection control techniques while performing rotary coronal polishing.

-and -

D Verification of active licensure or certification verifying authorization to perform restorative functions.
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Board of Dental Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfDentalExaminers@Alaska.Gov

Website: Professionallicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfDentalExaminers

Notary Signature Page

YAV Notarized Signature

| HEREBY CERTIFY that the information contained in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. |
further certify that all credentials supplied by me are true and correct. | understand that any false information or falsification
of credentials may result in failure to obtain a certificate to perform restorative functions as a dental assistant in the State
of Alaska.

I have read the Alaska Dental Hygiene Practice Act. | solemnly declare upon my honor that, if granted a certificate to perform
restorative functions as a dental assistant in Alaska, | will respectfully comply with any law governing the performance of
restorative functions in this state, and | will do my best to uphold and maintain the ethics of the profession.

r-————=——77 T | Applicant Printed

: : Name:

| | | Applicant

| | | Signature:

: : Notary Public for Subscribed and Sworn to
| | | State of: Before me on this Day:

| | . My Commission
L | | Notary Signature: Expires:
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THE STATE
of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Board of Dental Examiners
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811
Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfDentalExaminers@Alaska.Gov
Website: Professionallicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfDentalExaminers

Course Verification

| am applying for certification to allow me to perform restorative function in the State of Alaska. The Board of Dental Examiners
requires that this form be completed by the institution where | received my training in restorative functions.

Please complete this form and attach a course description and/or course outline of restorative functions curriculum and return it
directly to the address or email address noted above.

| hereby release all academic records necessary to complete the following form for the Board of Dental Examiners.

Course

Name on Diploma: .
P Completion Date:

Other Names Used:

Signature: Date Signed:

—> Applicant: Do Not Write Below This Line - Institution or Sponsor Use Only

Institution or Sponsor
Name:

Institution or Sponsor
Address:

Course Instructor
Name:

Course Title:

The course attended by the applicant named above was:
D A restorative program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association.
- Or -

D Another course of instruction approved by the Alaska Board of Dental Examiners under 12 AAC 28.860

| have attached verification that this program is accredited by ADA's CODA or has been approved by the Board of Dental
D Examiners (as applicable).

| hereby certify that the above information regarding the training in restorative functions that the above-named applicant
completed is true and correct to the best of my knowledge, and that she/he has acquired the necessary knowledge and
proficiency to perform restorative functions in Alaska.

Dean, Sponsor or
Instructor Printed Name:

[ || Dean, Sponsor or
- _ 1| Instructor Signature:
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THE STATE
of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Board of Dental Examiners
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811
Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfDentalExaminers@Alaska.Gov
Website: Professionallicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfDentalExaminers

Verification of Licensure
(If applying by certification in another jurisdiction)

The Board of Dental Examiners requires verification of licensure or certification to perform restorative
functions in another jurisdiction be verified by that jurisdiction. Complete this form and mail it to the
applicable licensing jurisdiction(s) for them to either complete or replace with the verification form
used by that state, then submit directly back to the Alaska Board of Dental Examiners.

—> Applicant:

Full Legal Name: License Number:

Mailing Address:

Applicant Signature: Date Signed:

Licensing Agency Please complete this bottom part for the applicant identified above and return the form

directly to the Alaska State Board of Dental Examiners at the letterhead address or email
or State Board: address above.

Licensee Name: State or
(As Shown in Your Records) Jurisdiction:
Graduate Of: Year:
Coronal Polishing License

g Issue Date:
or Certificate Number:
License Status: [J Current [J Lapsed [J Expiry Date:

Derogatory Comments:
(If Any)

1. Has the applicant’s license or certification ever been suspended, revoked, voluntarily suspended, D Ves D No
placed on probation, or restricted in any way?

If you answered “yes” to the question above, please attach a detailed explanation or
documentation signed and dated by the person whose signature appears below.

"Yes" Answers

Comments:
r—-————=-—=-=- =
| || Signature: Date Signed:
| I
| . .
| || Printed Name: Title:
[ I
: : Email: Phone:
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THE STATE

"ALASKA

i 7/ Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
#> /' Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

State of Alaska

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Phone: (907) 465-2550

Credit Card Payment Form

All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. Include this
credit card payment form with your application.

Name of Applicant or Licensee:

Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture):

License Number (if applicable):

| wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply): AMOUNT

[ Application Fee:

[0 License or Renewal Fee:

D Other (fine, exam, etc.):

1.

2.

TOTAL:

Name (as shown on credit card):

Mailing Address:

Phone Number: Email (optional):

Signature of Credit Card Holder: X

08-4438 Rev 12/06/2022 Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted)

CREDIT CARD INFO: Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed!

1. Credit Card Number: All 3 fields MUST be
———————————————————————————— completed!

2' Explratlon Date: ____________________________ ThiS SeCtion Wi” be

3. Security Code: destroyed after the
""""""""""""""" payment is processed.
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