

THE STATE OF ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: PhysicalAndOccupationalTherapy@Alaska.Gov

Website: *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/PhysicalTherapyOccupationalTherapy*

Occupational Therapist License by Examination Application Instructions

PLEASE READ the application instructions, statutes, and regulations before completing your application. Please retain this information for future reference. YOU MUST HOLD A TEMPORARY PERMIT OR PERMANENT LICENSE TO PRACTICE OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY IN ALASKA.

If you received this application other than directly from the Division or its official website, the application may be outdated or not an official version. To ensure you have the official version, please contact the Division. Faxed or emailed applications will not be accepted.

If you are seeking a limited permit do not complete this application. You may download that application from the Board's website. If you intend to seek permanent licensure DO NOT submit an application for a limited permit.

PERMANENT LICENSE - APPLICATION PROCEDURES (12 AAC 54.600)

The following must be received by the division before your application Occupational Therapist License by Examination can be reviewed:

1. APPLICATION

A completed application, signed and notarized (#08-4919, pages 1-4).

2. FEES

Fees made payable to "State of Alaska."

Nonrefundable Application Fee: \$150.00 License Fee: \$200.00 Fingerprint Processing Fee: \$75.00 Total Fees Due: \$425.00

3. FINGERPRINT & BACKGROUND REPORTS

Submit Fingerprinting & Background Reports - One original 8" x 8" card (FD-258). An incorrect card will be automatically rejected. The fingerprint card submitted as part of this application should be sent directly to the Board of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy who will submit it to the Department of Public Safety (DPS) and the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) to perform a criminal background check (AS 12.62.400).

Please note that the fingerprint card will be rejected for the following reasons (28 CFR 50.12(b)):

- Incorrect type of card,
- Incomplete personal information or signatures, or
- Improperly rolled prints

If, however, an adverse report is received you may decide to challenge the accuracy or completeness of your FBI report directly with the FBI at www.FBI.gov (28 CFR 16.30 through 16.34). Challenges to the accuracy or completeness of your State of Alaska criminal history report may directed to the Division of Statewide Services, Department of Public Safety at https://dps.alaska.gov/Statewide/R-I/Background/Home.

Challenges may be given no later than 30 days after you have been notified by the department of an adverse report.

4. CERTIFICATION

Verification of initial certification by the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy, Inc. (NBCOT). Our agency will retrieve the certification from the NBCOT for you. The State Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Board does not administer the examination given by the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy Inc. Applicants must arrange with the NBCOT to sit for the examination (www.NBCOT.org).

5. REFERENCE

Professional Reference form (#08-4919a) completed and submitted to our division by a qualifying source; physician, instructor, supervisor, or official of your school of occupational therapy.

6. JURISPRUDENCE QUESTIONNAIRE

Submit a completed Jurisprudence Questionnaire form (#08-4884) with your application.

TEMPORARY PERMIT

The Board may issue a temporary permit to practice occupational therapy to an applicant who meets the criteria set out in AS 08.84.065 and 12 AAC 54.640. The temporary permit allows an applicant to practice while awaiting the next examination. *NOTE: A temporary permit will not be issued until all documentation is received and determined complete.*

To receive a temporary permit, numbers 1-6 in the section above must have been received along with the additional \$65.00 temporary permit fee and Statement of Responsibility Form (#08-4919b).

OT Information

APPLICATION REVIEW:

The application review process is defined by the requirements set forth in state law. The Board and its staff must comply with those laws in processing applications.

The application must be completed in full. If a question does not apply, write N/A in the space provided. Please print or type. An incomplete application or any unusual circumstances noted in the application may require additional processing time. You may want to keep a copy of your application for your records. You must sign and date the application in front of a notary public. Do not provide mailing envelopes with your requests for verification of licensure, professional reference, verification of work experience, or transcripts.

The Board conducts a thorough evaluation of education, training, employment or work history, malpractice history and any criminal or disciplinary history. We recommend you do not make commitments for loans, practice start dates, home purchases, etc., based on the expectation of licensure. The Board will not accelerate one application over others nor will it forego any elements of its screening process.

LEGAL NAME CHANGE:

If any of the required documents (i.e., transcripts, verifications of licensure, etc.) will be issued under a former name, submit marriage license, divorce dissolution and/or court documents that are notarized as a "certified true copy of the original document."

General Information

APPLICATION PROCESSING:

The average time to process a paper application varies by program but can take many weeks from the date it is received in this office complete with all correct forms, supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. When the application is complete and correct, and all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid, the license will be issued. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.

LICENSE TERM:

There is no "inactive" status. If you choose not to renew your license, it will lapse. Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on June 30 of even-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued to the next biennial expiration date. One renewal notice will be sent via email or mail at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known email or mailing address of record. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not relieve a licensee from the responsibility of renewing a license on time.

PROFESSIONAL FITNESS QUESTIONS:

A "yes" response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded "yes" to any professional fitness questions in the application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and the charging document and judgement.

DENIAL OF APPLICATION:

Please be aware that the denial of an application of licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, state, or local governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law.

RANDOM AUDIT

If your program requires continuing education, the Division will audit a percentage of the license renewals. If your license is randomly selected for audit, a letter will be sent with instructions to submit documentation as proof you satisfied the continuing competency requirements as stated on this renewal form. Licensees are randomly selected by computer and may be randomly selected as often as the computer program chooses. You must save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to audits.

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of changes of address or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the Division's website. The address of record with the division will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name.

CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES:

If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license and/or court documents that are notarized as a "certified true copy of the original document". To obtain a certified true copy, you must present the notary with the original document along with the photocopy. You must write, "I certify this is a true copy of the original document" and sign your name. The notary will compare the original document with the copy and then notarize your signature.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:

AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is issued or renewed for an individual. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement form (#08-4372) located at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov* or contact the division for a copy of the form. This form is required with every application if you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number.

PUBLIC INFORMATION:

Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available as a public record, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:

Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited.

BUSINESS LICENSES:

The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed separately. For more information about business licenses, (907) 465-2550 or *BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov*

STALE DOCUMENTS:

Application forms, authorizations and verifications older than 12 months from the date the document was received by the division will be considered stale; the document must be resubmitted as appropriate before the application will be considered by the division or a licensing board. Application documents include the application documents and verifications of licensure from other licensing jurisdictions. (12 AAC 02.915)

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:

If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division's website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the specific program you want to be updated on to the address below.

Regulations Specialist

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing EMAIL: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov



Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

Board of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/PhysicalTherapyOccupationalTherapy

Occupational Therapist License by Examination Application

| PART I Pa | yment of Fees | 5 | | | | | |
|---|---|---|-----------------|----------------|--------------------|--------------|--|
| Required Fees: | Application, | Application, License, and Fingerprint Processing Fee (\$225 is Non-Refundable) \$425.00 | | | | | |
| Optional Fees: | ☐ Temporary F | Temporary Permit Fee | | | | | |
| PART II Te | mporary Pern | nit | | | | | |
| In addition to perm | In addition to permanent licensure, I would like to request a Temporary Permit. Yes No | | | | | | |
| Note: You are not e | ligible for a tempor | ary permit if you have fai | led the exam. | | | | |
| Date of National Ex | kam: | | Start Date of | Employment: | | | |
| Supervising Occupa Therapist's Full Na | | | | | | | |
| Supervising Occupa Therapist's Alaska | | | | | | | |
| PART III Pe | rsonal Inform | ation | | | | | |
| Full Legal Name: | | | | | | | |
| | | , nicknames, aliases). If cumentation showing pro | - | | ved in a prior nai | ne, you must | |
| Not Applie | * * | umentation snowing pro | on on legal man | ine change(s). | | | |
| | mes Used: | | | | | | |
| Mailing Address: | P.O. Box or Street | | City | | State | Zip | |
| Contact Phone: | | | | Date of Birth: | | | |
| EMAIL AGREEMENT : By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I understand that failure to check my email account or to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure. | | | | | | | |
| Email Address: Select One: Send my Correspondence Electronic Send my Correspondence by Mail | | | | · · | | | |
| Note: If both boxes are selected above, you will receive correspondence electronically. | | | | | | | |
| States Social Security Nur | OCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: AS 08.01.060 requires you to provide your United tates Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and will not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. | | | | | | |

| PART IV | ducation | | | | | | |
|-----------------------------|---------------------|-----------------|----------------|----------------|--------------------|---|-------------------|
| Conferred Degree: | : | | AA | | BS | ☐ MS | Doctorate |
| Name of Occupati School: | onal Therapy | | | | | | |
| Complete Address | of School: | P.O. Box or Str | reet | | City | State | Zip |
| Name When Degro | ee Awarded: | | | | | Date Degree Awarded: | |
| PART V E | xamination | | | | | | |
| Have you taken th | e national occu | pational ther | apy examina | tion? | | ☐ Yes | S No |
| | <i>If yes,</i> list | all states and | d dates wher | e you took t | he national exa | mination below. | |
| State | | | dministered | Ву | | Date Administere | ed Result |
| | | | | | | | Pass Fail |
| | | | | | | | Pass |
| | | | | | | | Pass |
| If naccod Initial N | PCOT Cortificati | on Dato: | | | NPCOT Cortifi | ication Number: | Fail |
| <i>If passed,</i> Initial N | BCOT Certificati | on Date: | | | NBCOT CERTIFIC | ication Number: | |
| Name When Certi | fication Was Iss | ued: | | | | | |
| PART VI A | laska Emplo | oyment | | | | | |
| Have you secured | employment in | Alaska? | | Yes | | No | |
| Alaska Business N | ame: | | | | | | |
| Physical Address: | | P.O. Box or Str | eet | | City | State | Zip |
| Phone Number: | | | | | Start Date of | Employment: | |
| DARTIU S | | | l n | | | | |
| | ingerprints | | | - | | | (D. I.I. C. C. |
| DPS) with th | e State of Alaska | a, and to the F | ederal Burea | au of Investig | gations (FBI) to p | t to the Department erform a criminal his | |
| | | | | | to be accepted. | | |
| • | _ | - | - | - | | rt by contacting either ride/R-I/Background/ | |
| PART VIII | Alaska Law | | | | | | |
| | | ed, understar | nd and will at | oide by the st | tatutes and regu | lations applicable to | my profession (AS |
| □ 08.84 and 12 | AAC 54). | | | | | | |

PART IX Professional Fitness Questions

The following questions must be answered. "Yes" answers may not automatically result in license denial.

For each "yes" response to any question, you must provide an <u>explanation</u> and <u>documentation</u>. Use the letter of explanation form (#08-4752) appended to this application; include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. A separate letter of explanation form must be provided for each "yes" answer documented below. Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board, or license actions, etc.

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

| | When in doubt, disclose and explain. | | | | |
|----|--|---------|---------|---------|-------|
| 1. | Have you ever been disciplined by any state board or occupational therapy association concerning violation of the Occupational Therapy Practice Act or unethical conduct? | | Yes | | No |
| 2. | Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted, conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed on probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority in connection with a professional license you have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and including that of any military authorities or is any such action pending? | | Yes | | No |
| 3. | Have you ever been denied the privilege of taking an examination before any state occupational therapy board? | | Yes | | No |
| 4. | Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime? For purposes of this question, "crime" includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a military offense, including, but not limited to, driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license. "Convicted" includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition of sentence, or a fine. | | Yes | | No |
| 5. | Have you ever been convicted of a violation of any federal or state narcotic laws? | | Yes | | No |
| 6. | Have you ever had any malpractice settlements or judgments paid on your behalf? | | Yes | | No |
| 7. | Are you currently suffering from any condition, mental or physical, that impairs your judgement or that would otherwise adversely affect your ability to practice as an occupational therapist in a competent, ethical and professional manner? | | Yes | | No |
| 8. | Do you use drugs or alcohol in any manner that impairs your ability to practice as an occupational therapist competently and safely? | | Yes | | No |
| | "Yes" Answers "Yes" to questions 7 or 8 in addition to your personal submit a statement from your health care provider indicating your as an occupational therapist. Applications submitted without the awill be considered incomplete and will not be processed. | ability | to safe | ely pra | ctice |

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

Board of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Website: ProfessionalLicense. Alaska. Gov/PhysicalTherapyOccupationalTherapy

Notary Signature:

Notary Signature Page

| Applicant Name: | | | | | | | |
|--|--|--|----------------|-----------------------|--|--|--|
| Alaska License Number (if known): | | | | pplication in Process | | | |
| PART X Notarize | ed Signature | | | | | | |
| application, and I know | | ned and subscribing to this application an f. I declare that all of the information cornd correct. | | | | | |
| hereto, or falsification | I understand that any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment hereto, or falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, revoking, or otherwise disciplining a license or permit to practice in the state of Alaska. | | | | | | |
| I further understand the the crime of unsworn fa | | eanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to fa | alsify an appl | ication and commit | | | |
| - | A person who makes a false statement on this application may be subject to civil and criminal penalties, including prosecution for perjury (AS 11.56.200 & AS 11.56.230). | | | | | | |
| Notary Stamp | Applicant Printed Name: | | | | | | |
| Applicant Signature: | | | | | | | |
| | Notary Public for State of: Subscribed and Sworn to Before me on this Day: | | | | | | |
| | Notary Signatures | My | Commission | | | | |

Expires:



of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: PhysicalAndOccupationalTherapy@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense. Alaska. Gov/PhysicalTherapyOccupationalTherapy

Professional Reference

| - Annucanti | | it to your reference. It may be returned directly to the Division in ey may email it to the above address. | | | |
|---|--|--|--|--|--|
| Applicant Name: | | | | | |
| Applicant Signature: | | | | | |
| Reference Name: | | | | | |
| The following information must be completed in full and sent directly to the Division by the professional reference to meet the requirements; the reference must be submitted and completed by physician, instructor, supervisor, or official of the applicant's occupational therapy school. Forms submitted and/or completed by the applicant will not be accepted. | | | | | |
| Start Date of Association: (mm/dd/yyyy) | | End Date of Association: (mm/dd/yyyy) | | | |
| Professional Relationship: | Physician Instructor | ☐ Supervisor ☐ Official of the Occupational Therapy School | | | |
| Comments: | | | | | |
| Signature | | | | | |
| | fy that I was professionally associate ter and worthy of confidence. <i>Plea</i> | ed with the applicant and the applicant is professionally capable, ase print or type legibly. | | | |
| Reference Name: | | Title: | | | |
| Reference Signature: | | Date: | | | |
| Reference Email: | | | | | |
| Institution/Clinic Name: | | | | | |
| Institution Address: | | | | | |



of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Subscribed and Sworn to

My Commission

Before me on this Day:

Expires:

Board of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: PhysicalAndOccupationalTherapy@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense. Alaska. Gov/PhysicalTherapyOccupationalTherapy

Statement of Responsibility

This form must be notarized and mailed directly to the PO Box on this letterhead. **Do not send this form via email or fax.**

Supervisor will assume the full responsibility of supervising this applicant at the facility below:

Notary Public for

Notary Signature:

State of:

| Applicant Name: | | | | |
|--|---|---|---|---------------------------|
| Supervisor Name: | | | | |
| Supervisor's AK Occupational Therapist License Number: | 1 | | | |
| Facility Name: | | | | |
| Facility Physical Address: | P.O. Box or Street | City | State | Zip |
| Facility Mailing Address: | P.O. Box or Street | City | State | Zip |
| the examination for which the applicant fails to take scheduled examination ar By my signature below, I | n the applicant is scheduled the examination for which h nd that he/she will not be eli certify that the above inform Alaska Board of Physical Th | avalid for eight months from the d are published, whichever occurs f e/she is scheduled, the applicant's igible to continue practicing under nation is true and correct and that erapy and Occupational Therapy. | irst. I understand and agr permit will lapse on the c the permit. | ree that if day of the |
| Notary Stamp | Supervisor Printed Name: | | | |
| | Supervisor Signature: | | | |



THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: PhysicalAndOccupationalTherapy@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/PhysicalTherapyOccupationalTherapy

Jurisprudence Questionnaire

Occupational Therapist and Occupational Therapy Assistant

All applicants for licensure must complete the following questionnaire prepared by the Board of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy. The answers to the questions will be found by reviewing the statute and regulation booklets published online. Use the statutes and regulations to determine the correct answers.

- Principles of Practice
- Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Statutes and Regulations AS 08.84 and 12 AAC 54
- Centralized Licensing Statutes AS 08.01
- Centralized Licensing Regulations 12 AAC 02

Step 1: Select the correct answer.

Step 2: Cite the statute or regulation where the answer was found.

| 1. | The B | oard may take the following actions singularly or in combination: |
|----|---------------|--|
| | | Refuse renewal |
| | | Revoke |
| | | Suspend |
| | | All of the above |
| | \rightarrow | Cite Statute AS 08.84 |
| 2. | Accor | ding to the Alaska Statutes 08.01.075, disciplinary powers of the board may include: |
| | | Impose a civil fine not to exceed \$1,000 |
| | | Impose a civil fine not to exceed \$3,000 |
| | | Impose a civil fine not to exceed \$5,000 |
| | | Impose a civil fine not to exceed \$10,000 |
| | \rightarrow | Cite Centralized Statute 08.01.075. |
| 3. | | oard may refuse to license an applicant, may refuse to renew the license of a person, and may suspend or revoke the e of a person who: |
| | | has attempted to obtain a license by material misrepresentation. |
| | | has continued to practice occupational therapy after becoming unfit due to physical or mental disability. |
| | | has failed to refer a patient to another qualified professional when the patient's condition is beyond the training or ability of the person |
| | | uses drugs or alcohol in any manner that affects the person's ability to practice occupational therapy safely. |
| | | All of the above. |
| | \rightarrow | Cite Statute 08.84. |

| 4. | An in | dividual who practices without the appropriate license (including practicing with a lapsed license) is guilty of a: |
|----|---------------|---|
| | | class A misdemeanor |
| | | class B misdemeanor |
| | | class C misdemeanor |
| | | felony |
| • | \rightarrow | Cite Statute AS 08.84 |
| 5. | | cope of authorized practice for an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant includes the practice of cine, osteopathy, chiropractic, or other methods of healing. |
| | | False |
| | | True |
| • | \rightarrow | Cite Statute AS 08.84 |
| 6. | Recor | ds of continuing education must be retained from the date of completion for: |
| | | 2 years |
| | | 3 years |
| | | 5 years |
| | | 7 years |
| - | \rightarrow | Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54. |
| 7. | | ne responsibility of the to notify the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing when |
| | a cha | nge in address occurs for a licensee. |
| | | direct supervisor |
| | | licensee |
| | | All of the above. |
| | | |
| • | | Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54 |
| 8. | A lice | nsee selected for audit of continuing competency requirements shall submit substantiating documentation within after the date of notification by the division. |
| | | 30 days |
| | | 60 days |
| | | 90 days |
| | | 120 days |
| • | \rightarrow | Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54. |
| 9. | The li | cense or permit or a copy of the license or permit must be: |
| | | kept in the personnel file of the licensee or permit holder. |
| | | kept with the practicing therapist at all times. |
| | | posted in a conspicuous location in the licensee's primary place of business. |
| | | posted somewhere in the place of business. |
| | \rightarrow | Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54. |

| | cupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant licensee applicant for renewal, who has been licensed 12 hs or more, shall have completed contact hours of continuing education during the previous licensing period. |
|--------------------|---|
| | 12 |
| | 20 |
| | 24 |
| | 30 |
| \rightarrow | Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54 |
| | ccupational therapy assistant shall be supervised by an occupational therapist. The minimum times per month the vising therapist must be physically present while the assistant implements a treatment plan with a patient is: |
| | Once per month |
| | Two times per month |
| | Three times per month |
| | Four times per month |
| \rightarrow | Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54. |
| | aintain current licensure in this state, licensees shall document having provided occupational therapy services for at hours during the concluding licensing period. |
| | 30 |
| | 60 |
| | 120 |
| | 150 |
| | |
| \rightarrow | Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54 |
| requ | Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54 oplicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the red contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization oved by the board. |
| requ | oplicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the red contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization |
| requ | oplicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the red contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization oved by the board. |
| requ | oplicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the red contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization oved by the board. all |
| requ | oplicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the red contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization oved by the board. all five |
| requ | oplicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the red contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization oved by the board. all five one-half |
| requiappro | oplicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the red contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization oved by the board. all five one-half some |
| requiappro | oplicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the red contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization oved by the board. all five one-half some Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54 e accepted by the board, a continuing education course or activity must contribute directly to the professional setency of an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant and must be directly related to the skills and |
| requiappro | oplicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the red contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization oved by the board. all five one-half some Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54 e accepted by the board, a continuing education course or activity must contribute directly to the professional netency of an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant and must be directly related to the skills and ledge required to implement the principles and methods of occupational therapy. |
| requiappro | pplicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the red contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization oved by the board. all five one-half some Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54 e accepted by the board, a continuing education course or activity must contribute directly to the professional etency of an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant and must be directly related to the skills and ledge required to implement the principles and methods of occupational therapy. False |
| 14. To b comp know | pplicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the red contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization oved by the board. all five one-half some Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54 e accepted by the board, a continuing education course or activity must contribute directly to the professional eletency of an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant and must be directly related to the skills and ledge required to implement the principles and methods of occupational therapy. False True |
| 14. To b comp know | poplicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the red contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization oved by the board. all five one-half some Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54 e accepted by the board, a continuing education course or activity must contribute directly to the professional etency of an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant and must be directly related to the skills and ledge required to implement the principles and methods of occupational therapy. False True Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54 The Alaska Board of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Principles of Practice, an occupational therapist and |
| 14. To b comp know | pplicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the red contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization oved by the board. all five one-half some Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54 e accepted by the board, a continuing education course or activity must contribute directly to the professional setency of an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant and must be directly related to the skills and ledge required to implement the principles and methods of occupational therapy. False True Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54 The Alaska Board of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Principles of Practice, an occupational therapist and pational therapy assistant must adhere to the National Professional Core Values and Ethical Standards. |

| 16. Conti | nual on-site supervision means that the occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant: |
|------------------|---|
| | is immediately available. |
| | is present in the department or facility where services are being provided. |
| | maintains continual oversight of patient-related duties. |
| | All of the above. |
| \rightarrow | Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54 |
| | sal to cooperate with a continuing education audit will be considered an admission of an attempt to obtain a license aterial misrepresentation. |
| | False |
| | True |
| \rightarrow | Cite Statute AS 08.84 and Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54 |
| | der for an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant to obtain licensure, they must provide proof of certification with: |
| | AOTA |
| | AKOTA |
| | NBCOT |
| | WFOT |
| \rightarrow | Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54. |
| | ccupational therapist applicant who has been issued a temporary permit prior to taking the national examination may nue to practice under that temporary permit even if the occupational therapist applicant fails to take the examination. |
| | False |
| | True |
| \rightarrow | Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54 |
| | mentation to verify completion of continuing competency must include a valid copy of a certificate or similar cation of satisfactory completion which must include: |
| | a description of the continuing competency activity and the dates of actual participation or successful completion. |
| | the name and Internet address or physical mailing address of course provider, instructor, sponsor or other entity the department may contact, as needed, to verify attendance. |
| П | the name of the licensee and the number of continuing competency credits awarded. |
| | All of the above. |
| | |
| | Cite Centralized Regulation 12 AAC 02. |
| 21. A bus | siness which provides telemedicine services must register with the state telemedicine business registry. |
| | False |
| | True |
| \rightarrow | Cite Centralized Regulation 12 AAC 02 |
| | |

Fingerprinting Requirements

Your fingerprints will be used to check your criminal history records with the FBI [28 CFR 50.12(b)]. Procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or updating of an FBI identification record are set forth in 28 CFR 16.34.

This license application must be accompanied by a complete fingerprint card (may be used for the Alaska Department of Public Safety (DPS) and for the FBI national check). Fingerprints submitted must be on the standard FBI Form *FD-258*. These forms can be found for purchase online or often at local law enforcement or other authorized agencies that offer fingerprinting. Take the card, the instructions, and your photo identification to local law enforcement or other authorized agency to have the fingerprinting done. Please follow these instructions and the back of the fingerprint card.

DPS/the FBI will not accept any fingerprint cards that do not comply with the following:

- 1. No staples or staple holes are permitted in fingerprint cards. Do not tape, tear or fold the cards.
- 2. Ensure the prints are done properly and well. Poor quality prints, smudging, non-rolled or incomplete fingerprints will cause the cards to be rejected by DPS, the FBI or both.
- 3. All applicable sections of the top portion of the card must be legible and complete. The information/signatures must be typed, printed or signed in BLACK ink; no other color is permitted. Individual information blocks on the fingerprint cards must be filled in as follows:

NAME: Applicant's last name (comma), first name, then middle name (if any); suffix denoting seniority (Jr., Sr., II, etc.) follow the middle or first name. Be sure to write your name in clear handwriting. Unclear handwriting may result in misspellings on the required background report and/or may require new fingerprint cards to be submitted.

SIGNATURE OF PERSON FINGERPRINTED: Must be signed by the applicant.

RESIDENCE OF PERSON FINGERPRINTED: Enter the applicant's physical residence address.

DATE: Date fingerprinting was done.

SIGNATURE OF OFFICIAL TAKING FINGERPRINTS: Signature of the person who rolled the fingerprints.

EMPLOYER AND ADDRESS AND REASON FINGERPRINTED: These blocks to be completed by the State of Alaska.

ALIASES/AKA: List other names used by the applicant that are different than that entered in NAME block; also, list maiden names and all previous married names of females. Enter client number at bottom of block.

CITIZENSHIP/CTZ: Enter US if a citizen of the United States; otherwise, enter the correct country abbreviation.

YOUR NO./OCA: Leave this space blank (Originating Agency Case Number).

FBI NO./FBI: Enter the applicant's assigned FBI number, if known.

ARMED FORCES NO./MNU: Leave this space blank.

SOCIAL SECURITY NO./SOC: List the applicant's Social Security Number.

MISC. NO./MNU: If Alaska resident, enter the applicant's Alaska driver's license or state ID# (if applicable).

ORIGINATING AGENCY IDENTIFIER (ORI): Leave blank, will be printed with AKAST0100, DPS, ANCHORAGE, AK.

SEX: F (Female) or M (Male). Note: Indicate if applicant is a transvestite (cross-dresser) or has had as sex change operation. List any opposite sex names used in the ALIASES/AKA block.

RACE: Race must be indicated by one of the following one-character alphabetic codes:

A = Asian, Pacific Islander, Chinese, Japanese, Polynesian, Korean, Vietnamese

B = Black

I = American Indian, Alaskan Native, Eskimo

W = White, Mexican, Latin, Puerto Rican, Cuban, Central/South American and other Spanish cultures

U = Unknown

HEIGHT: Must be shown in feet and inches, fractions rounded off to nearest inches (i.e., 5'11" entered as 511).

WEIGHT: Must be expressed in pounds, fractions rounded off to nearest pound.

EYES: Indicate eye color by one of the following three-character codes:

BLK = BlackGRY = GrayMAR = MaroonBLU = BlueGRN = GreenPNK = PinkBRO = BrownHAZ = HazelUNK = Unknown

HAIR: Indicate hair color by one of the following three-character codes:

BAL = Bald BRO = Brown SDY = Sandy BLK = Black GRY = Gray WHI = White BLN = Blonde RED = Red XXX = Unknown

PLACE OF BIRTH/POB: List the state, territorial possession, Canadian province, or country of birth. Use the correct abbreviation for foreign countries or correctly spell the country's name. Do not use city or county names as a POB.

DATE OF BIRTH/DOB: Enter birth date as month, day, year. Fingerprint cards of persons 80+ years of age are not processed by the FBI. Note: If DOB is blank, the card will be immediately returned unprocessed.

FINGERPRINT IMPRESSION BLOCKS: (Individual and Simultaneous) It is very important care be taken to prepare the fingerprint cards properly. It will save much more time and avoid rejections to assure acceptability the first time. Use black printer's ink. Fingers should be clean and dry before being inked. Use neither too much nor too little ink, nor too much nor too little pressure to make the impressions. To help ensure legibility, all 10 fingers must be rolled from nail to nail and include the first flexion crease. Detail must be sufficient on all 10 individua prints to clearly define the loop, whorl, arch, or other pattern. Roll the prints in the correct sequence.

All instructions must be followed correctly. All information on the cards is essential. Please double check your work before sending the card. Illegible, incomplete, or incorrect cards will be rejected and returned unprocessed.

Noncriminal Justice Applicant's Privacy Rights

As an applicant who is the subject of a national fingerprint-based criminal history record check for a noncriminal justice purpose (such as an application for employment or a license, an immigration or naturalization matter, security clearance, or adoption), you have certain rights which are discussed below:

- You must be provided written notification¹ that your fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the FBI and the State of Alaska.
- You must be provided, and acknowledge receipt of, an adequate Privacy Act Statement when you submit your fingerprints and associate personal information. This Privacy Act Statement should explain the authority for collecting your information and how your information will be used, retained, and shared.²
- If you have a criminal history record, the officials making a determination of your suitability for the employment, license or other benefit must provide you the opportunity to complete or challenge the accuracy of the information in the record.
- The officials must advise you that the procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or update of your criminal history record are set forth at Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Section 16.34.
- If you have a criminal history record, you should be afforded a reasonable amount of time to correct or complete the record (or decline to do so) before the officials deny you the employment, license, or other benefit based on information in the criminal history record.³

You have the right to expect that officials receiving the results of the criminal history records check will use it only for authorized purposes and will not retain or disseminate it in violation of federal statute, regulation or executive order, or rule, procedure or standard established by the National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Council.⁴

If agency policy permits, the officials may provide you with a copy of your FBI criminal history record for review and possible challenge. If agency policy does not permit it to provide you a copy of the record, you may obtain a copy of the record by submitting fingerprints and a fee to the FBI. Information regarding this process may be obtained at:

https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks

If you decide to challenge the accuracy or completeness of your FBI criminal history record, you should send your challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned information to the FBI. Alternatively, you may send your challenge directly to the FBI. The FBI will then forward your challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned information and request the agency to verify or correct the challenged entry. Upon receipt of an official communication from that agency, the FBI will make any necessary changes/corrections to your record in accordance with the information supplied by that agency. (See 28 CFR 16.30 through 16.34).

To challenge the accuracy or completeness of your State of Alaska criminal history records, go to the Division of Statewide Services, Department of Public Safety at https://DPS.Alaska.Gov/Statewide/R-I/background/Home to request to correct criminal justice information.

¹Written notification includes electronic notification but excludes oral notification.

²https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/compact-council/privacy-act-statement

³See 28 CFR 50.12(b) and Alaska Regulation AAC 13.68.300.

⁴ See 5 U.S.C. 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 42 U.S.C. 14616, Article IV(c); 28 CFR 20.21(c), 20.33(d) and 906.2(d).

Privacy Act Statement

This privacy act statement is located on the back of the FD-258 Fingerprint Card.

Authority: The FBI's acquisition, preservation, and exchange of fingerprints and associated information is generally authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534. Depending on the nature of your application, supplemental authorities include Federal statutes, State statutes pursuant to Pub. L. 92-544, Presidential Executive Orders, and federal regulations. Providing your fingerprints and associated information is voluntary; however, failure to do so may affect completion or approval of your application.

Principal Purpose: Certain determinations, such as employment, licensing, and security clearances, may be predicated on fingerprint-based background checks. Your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics may be provided to the employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible agency, and/or the FBI for the purpose of comparing your fingerprints to other fingerprints in the FBI's Next Generation Identification (NGI) system or its successor systems (including civil, criminal ,and latent fingerprint repositories) or other available records of the employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible agency. The FBI may retain your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics in NGI after the completion of this application and, while retained, your fingerprints may continue to be compared against other fingerprints submitted to or retained by NGI.

Routine Uses: During the processing of this application and for as long thereafter as your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics are retained in NGI, your information may be disclosed pursuant to your consent, and may be disclosed without your consent as permitted by the Privacy Act of 1974 and all applicable Routine Uses as may be published at any time in the Federal Register, including the Routine Uses for the NGI system and the FBI's Blanket Routine Uses. Routine uses include, but are not limited to, disclosures to: employing, governmental or authorized non-governmental agencies responsible for employment, contracting, licensing, security clearances, and other suitability determinations; local, state, tribal, or federal law enforcement agencies; criminal justice agencies; and agencies responsible for national security or public safety.

As of 03/30/2018



THE STATE OF ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Professional Licensing

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: License@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov

Letter of Explanation for a Professional Fitness "Yes" Answer

Use this form only to explain and document any professional fitness "yes" answers. A "yes" answer is not necessarily disqualifying but concealing one may be.

Each "yes" answer requires a separate explanation and associated documentation. Submit all relevant documentation with this form, even if you have previously provided it.

- **Explanations** include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. If the space provided is insufficient, make additional copies as needed.
- **Documentation** includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board or license actions, decisions against your professional certification, satisfaction of consent agreements (fines paid, community service completed, off probation, etc.), and fitness to practice letters (statement from your provider that you are safe to practice if you check "yes" to any of the questions regarding mental or physical health, or drug or alcohol abuse or addiction).
- **Disciplinary actions** may include, but not be limited to, suspension, surrender, revocation, probation, academic probation, reprimand, censure, restricted license, limited license, conditioned license, or letters of counseling, concern, advice, warning, caution, admonishment, or reprimand.

If you have multiple "yes" answers or multiple incidents for any professional fitness question, you must use a separate copy of this form and provide a full explanation and documentation for each incident.

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

| Write the professional fitness question number you are answering "yes" to in the box. | | | | | | |
|---|---|-----------------------------|------------------------|---------------------|-------------|--|
| Location of Inc | Location of Incident: Date of Incident: | | | | | |
| When in doub and explain. | Explanation of Incident: When in doubt, disclose and explain. Make copies as necessary. | | | | | |
| Did you attach | all applicable | e documents associated with | this incident? | | | |
| Court Ord | lers [| Consent Agreements | ☐ Disciplinary Actions | Charging | g Documents | |
| Court Rec | cords | Fitness to Practice | All Other Documenta | tion Related to Thi | is Incident | |
| | I have additional incidents for this "yes" answer, or "yes" answers to other Professional Fitness questions and have attached a separate copy of this form for each incident. | | | | | |
| Full Name: | | | | Program: | | |
| Signature: | | | | Date Signed: | | |

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

State of Alaska PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Credit Card Payment Form

| A II | | | For security nurnoses | | | ماناه ماد مام المام الماد الماد الماد الماد | |
|--------|--------------------|--------------|--------------------------|-----------------|-----------------------|---|-----------|
| ΔII II | iaint credit cards | are accented | FOR COCHITION NHITTONCOC | no not email co | enir carn information | incline this creat a | arn navme |

| form with your application. | | | | , |
|-------------------------------------|-------------------------------------|---|----------------|-----------------------|
| Name of Applicant or Licensee: | | | | |
| Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture) | License Number (if applic | | | e): |
| I wish to make payment by credit ca | ard for the following (check all ti | for the following (check all that apply): | | AMOUNT |
| Application Fee: | | | | |
| License or Renewal Fee: | | | | |
| Other (fine, exam, etc.): | | | | |
| 1. | · | | | |
| 2. | | | | |
| ' | | | TOTAL: | |
| Name (as shown on credit card): | | | | |
| Mailing Address: | | | | |
| Phone Number: | | Email (Optional): | | |
| Signature of Credit Card Holder: | | | | |
| | | | | |
| 08-4438 (Rev. 05/01/2024) | Credit Card Payment Form | n (all major cards | accepted) | Page 1 of 1 |
| CREDIT CARD INFO: You | ır payment cannot be p | processed un | less all field | ds are completed. |
| 1. Credit Card Number: | | | | s MUST be completed. |
| | | | All 5 ileid | s wiosi be completed. |

2. Expiration Date: This section will be destroyed after the payment is processed. 3. Security Code: