
Alaska Real Estate Commission Recovery Fund Claim for Payment Instructions 

The Real Estate Recovery Fund was established to reimburse consumers for financial loss in a real estate transaction due to a licensee’s 
fraud, deceit, intentional tort, conversion of trust funds or the conversion of community association accounts under the control of a 
community association manager on the part of a licensed person.   

A $250 filing fee must accompany each application for a claim against the recovery fund. If the claim is for a loss incurred as a result 
of acts or omissions occurring in the course of the licensee’s practice of community association management, only the owner’s 
association for which the real estate licensee practices community association management may file a claim under this section. 

In order to be eligible for an award by the Commission, the claim form must be filed within two years after the date a judgment, 
arbitration award, or settlement agreement has been obtained that is the basis of the award from the recovery fund and is no longer 
subject to appeal. Claimant must submit an affidavit describing the efforts made to collect the final judgment, arbitration award or 
settlement agreement stating their due diligence to collect the amount due, that the judgment, arbitration award or settlement 
agreement is uncollectable using reasonable efforts and that the conduct that is subject of the judgment, arbitration award, or 
settlement agreement involved an activity for which a person must obtain a license under AS 08.88.161 (#08-4614). 

Not more than $15,000 may be paid for each transaction, regardless of the number of persons injured or the number of parcels of real 
estate involved in the transaction. The maximum liability of the real estate recovery fund may not exceed $50,000 for any one real 
estate licensee. 

After a claim is filed, it is reviewed to ensure it is complete and then presented to the Commission at the next regularly scheduled 
meeting for their review and consideration. 

The claimant shall keep a current mailing address and telephone number on file with the Commission until the claim is resolved. Failure 
to maintain a current mailing address and telephone number on file with the Commission while the claim is pending may result in 
dismissal of the claim. 

A person who files a notice, statement, or other required documents with the Commission that contains a willful material 
misstatement of fact, is guilty of a misdemeanor and is punishable by imprisonment for a period of not more than one year, and/or a 
fine of not more than $1,000. 
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Alaska Real Estate Commission Recovery Fund Claim for Payment 

PART I Payment of Fees 

Required Fees: Application Filing Fee  $250.00 

PART II Claimant Information 

Name: 

Address: Phone Number: 

Legal Counsel: 
(optional) Phone Number: 

Claim Number R-: Date: 

PART III Licensee Information 

Having read the attached instruction sheet and explanation of claim procedures, I/we hereby make a claim against the recovery 
fund for losses suffered in a real estate transaction involving the following licensees: 

1. Name: Phone Number: 

Broker Associate Broker Salesperson 

Office Name: Broker in 
Charge: 

Office Address: 

2. Name: Phone Number: 

Broker Associate Broker Salesperson 

Office Name: Broker in 
Charge: 

Office Address: 
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PART IV Judgment Information 

Nature of 
Allegations: 

Fraud Intentional Tort Deceit 

Conversion of Community Association Accounts Conversion of Trust Funds 

Date of Final Judgment, Final Arbitration Award or Settlement Agreement: 

Amount of Final Judgment, Final Arbitration Award or Settlement 
Agreement that Remains Unpaid: 

Documents 
Attached: 

Copy of final judgment, final arbitration award or settlement agreement 

Copy of affidavit asserting due diligence but lack of success in collecting the entire amount due. 

PART V Statement of Facts 
General statement of facts relative to claim (attach additional sheets if necessary): 

PART VI Sworn Statement 

I hereby certify that I am the person herein named and subscribing to this application and that I have read the complete application, 
and I know the full content thereof. I declare that all of the information contained herein, and evidence or other documents 
submitted herewith are true and correct. 

I understand that any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment hereto, or 
falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, revoking, or otherwise 
disciplining a license or permit to practice in the state of Alaska. 

I further understand that it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime 
of unsworn falsification. 

A person who makes a false statement on this application may be subject to civil and criminal penalties, including prosecution for 
perjury (AS 11.56.200 & AS 11.56.230). 

Claimant’s 
Printed Name: 

Claimant’s 
Signature: 

Notary Public 
for State of: 

Subscribed & Sworn to 
Before me on this Day:

Notary’s 
Signature: 

My Commission 
Expires:
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All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. 
Include this credit card payment form with your application.  

Name of Applicant or Licensee:      _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Program Type:   ________________________________________________________      License Number (if applicable):    ________________________________ 

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):                   AMOUNT       

Application Fee:  _________________________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________ 

License or Renewal Fee:      _________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________ 

Other (name change, wall certificate, fine, duplicate license, exam, etc.):        

1. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________ 

2. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

        TOTAL:            ___________________________ 

Name (as shown on credit card):   ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:            ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone Number:   ________________________________________________________      Email (optional):               _______________________________________________________ 

Signature of Credit Card Holder:          _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 08-4438                   Rev 12/26/18                   Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted) 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Credit Card Payment Form 

CREDIT CARD INFO:  Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed! 

All four fields MUST 
be completed! 

This section will be 
destroyed after the 

payment is processed. 

1. Account Number:

2. Expiration Date:

3. Billing ZIP Code:

4. Security Code:
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